Famous literary quotes with a biography of each quoted person.

BookBrowse's Favorite Literary Quotes

Page 1 of 6

Children are not the people of tomorrow, but people today.

Choose an author as you would a friend

Common sense is genius dressed in its working clothes.

Courage - a perfect sensibility of the measure of danger, and a mental willingness to endure it.

Dictators ride to and fro on tigers from which they dare not dismount. And the tigers are getting hungry.

Discovery consists of seeing what everybody has seen and thinking what nobody has thought.

Don't join the book burners. Don't think you are going to conceal faults by concealing evidence that they ever existed. Don't be afraid to go into your library and read every book.

Education is the period during which you are being instructed by somebody you do not know, about something you do not want to know.

Every good journalist has a novel in him - which is an excellent place for it.

Everywhere I go, I am asked if I think the university stifles writers...

Experience is not what happens to you; it's what you do with what happens to you

Failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor

Fanaticism consists in redoubling your effort when you have forgotten your aim

Finishing second in the Olympics gets you silver. Finishing second in politics gets you oblivion.

Flaming enthusiasm, backed up by horse sense and persistence, is the quality that most frequently makes for success

From the moment I picked your book up...

Give me the luxuries of life and I will willingly do without the necessities.

Good as it is to inherit a library, it is better to collect one.

Great literature cannot grow from a neglected or impoverished soil...

Great political questions stir the deepest nature of one-half the nation, but they pass far above and over the heads of the other half.

Happiness belongs to the self sufficient

Happiness makes up in height for what it lacks in length.

Harvard is the storehouse of knowledge because the freshmen bring so much in and the graduates take so little out.

He has only half learned the art of reading who has not added to it the more refined art of skipping and skimming

He who opens a door, closes a prison

Heaven has no rage like love to hatred turned, Nor hell a fury like a woman scorned.

I always find it more difficult to say the things I mean than the things I don't.

I am what the librarians have made me with a little assistance from a professor of Greek and a few poets

I find that a great part of the information I have was acquired by looking something up and finding something else on the way.

I have always imagined that paradise will be a kind of library

I have lost all sense of home, having moved about so much. It means to me now only that place where the books are kept.

I like a thin book because it will steady a table...

I write to add to the beauty that now belongs to me

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Book Woman's Daughter
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of ...
  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard

    Master storyteller Louis Bayard delivers a surprising portrait of a young Jackie Kennedy as we've never seen her before.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.