Who said: "Men are more moral than they think..."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Men are more moral than they think and far more immoral than they can imagine." - Sigmund Freud

Sigmund FreudSigmund Freud, the founder of psychoanalysis, was born in Freiburg, Moravia (then part of the Austrian Empire, now part of the Czech Republic) in 1856 of Jewish parentage. He studied medicine at Vienna, then specialized in neurology, and later in psychopathology.   In 1886 he went into private practice specializing in nervous and brain disorders, and started to experiment with hypnotism with his most hysterical patients, but gave this up in favor of simply getting his patients to lie on a couch and say whatever came into their minds (which he termed "free association").

He became convinced that infantile sexuality was a fact - a theory that isolated him from the medical profession of the day, but over time his theories became more accepted and in 1902 he was appointed to a professorship in Vienna where he developed a loyal following including Adler and Jung;  he later formed the Vienna Psychoanalytical Society (1908) and the International Psychoanalytic Association (1910).  By 1930 he had won some acceptance for his theories, and was awarded the Goethe Prize (a prestigious German literary award that had been introduced a few years earlier - which still exists today but is now a triennial, not annual, award) in recognition of his contributions to psychology. 

In 1933, the Nazis seized power in Germany and Freud's books were publicly burnt when Hitler banned psychoanalysis.  Following the Nazi invasion of Austria, Freud and his family escaped to England, where they settled in Hampstead, North London (their house is now a museum).

A heavy cigar smoker (an entire box daily), he contracted cancer of the mouth at the age of 67 and underwent more than 30 operations including having his jaw removed, which required him to wear a painful prosthesis to seal his mouth from his nasal cavity.  Unable to tolerate the pain any longer he died in 1939 of a physician-assisted morphine overdose.  He was 83.

His family stayed in England - his eldest daughter, Anna, became a distinguished psychologist, his grandson, Lucian (who died in 2011) was a well-known painter. Another grandson was the politician and writer, Clement Freud (who died in 2009). His great-grandchildren include the journalist Emma Freud, and Matthew Freud - who runs an influential PR company.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.