Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 2 of 249

View abbreviated list of news stories

"Fire and Fury" sells 192,000 copies in its first full week on sale.

Jan 19 2018: Henry Holt's efforts to rush more copies of Fire and Fury to stores appears to have partly met demand for the book. According to NPD BookScan, which tracks 80% to 85% of print sales, Michael Wolff's tell-all book about the Trump White House sold 191,838 copies in its ...

Full Story

PBS announces new show, The Great American Read, launching in May

Jan 17 2018: Margaret Atwood, Junot Díaz, Lauren Graham John Irving, Bill T. Jones, Devon Kennard, Gayle King, Diane Lane, George R. R. Martin, Lesley Stahl and many more will lend their voices to the upcoming PBS show, "The Great American Read."

The eight-part television ...

Full Story

PEN America to honor Stephen King with Literary Service Award

Jan 17 2018: PEN America is honoring Stephen King with its Literary Service Award at its annual literary gala in New York City on May 22. The award is given to "a critically-acclaimed writer whose body of work helps us understand and interpret the human condition, engendering ...

Full Story

Margaret Atwood faces feminist backlash on social media over #MeToo

Jan 15 2018: Canadian author Margaret Atwood is facing a social media backlash after voicing concerns about the #MeToo movement and calling for due process in the case of a former university professor accused of sexual misconduct.

Full Story

Author of "Hillbilly Elegy" considering running for Senate.

Jan 11 2018: J.D. Vance, who gained national recognition for his 2016 book, "Hillbilly Elegy," is seriously considering running in Ohio's key senate race, an adviser to Vance told CNN on Wednesday. This comes after Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell spoke with Vance about his ...

Full Story

Vending machines that dispense short stories rather than snacks

Jan 09 2018: While many have lamented the lost art of reading in our social media-driven world, few have actually tried to do anything about it. Short Édition is the exception. In 2011, the Grenoble, France-based startup began installing short story-dispensing vending machines in ...

Full Story

Before Sue Grafton was a star...

Jan 08 2018: The New York Times offers inspiration to many authors, with a short article pointing out that crime novelist Sue Grafton (who died in late December) did not break into the bestseller lists until her sixth book, "F is For Fugitive" cracked the paperback bestseller list ...

Full Story

Fire & Fury sells out as publisher Holt re-orders as fast as possible. Two more Trump books publishing next week

Jan 08 2018: Intense demand for Fire & Fury has caught its publisher, Henry Holt, off guard as the Macmillan imprint scrambles to get copies into the marketplace.

Gauging a book's traction in the marketplace and setting its print run is, arguably, one of the trickiest aspects of ...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.