Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 3 of 249

View abbreviated list of news stories

Pre-Orders for Michael Wolff's 'Fire and Fury: Inside the White House' skyrocket

Jan 04 2018: The new year has already proven unpleasant for President Trump, who has been shaken by a forthcoming tell-all about his White House. Michael Wolff's "Fire and Fury: Inside the White House", which is slated to be released by Holt next week, has shot up the charts on ...

Full Story

Jacqueline Woodson named National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature

Jan 04 2018: On Thursday, Jacqueline Woodson was named as the new National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature, a position that was created in 2008 by the Library of Congress, the Children’s Book Council and the literacy charity Every Child a Reader.

Full Story

Fred Bass, who made the Strand Bookstore a mecca, dies at 89

Jan 04 2018: Fred Bass, who transformed his father’s small used-book store, the Strand, into a mammoth Manhattan emporium with the slogan “18 Miles of Books,” died on Wednesday at his home in Manhattan. He was 89.

Full Story

Eleanor Oliphant and Reservoir 13 among category winners of Costa Book Awards

Jan 03 2018: The category award winners for the UK's Costa awards have been presented. The overall winner will be named January 30.

First novel: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, by Gail Honeyman

Novel: Reservoir 13, by Jon McGregor

Biography: In the Days of Rain, by ...

Full Story

Christmas week sales jump 7% over 2016

Jan 02 2018: While holiday unit sales of print books got off to a slow start Thanksgiving weekend, they ended on a strong note. Print unit sales increased 7% in the week ended Dec. 24, 2017, over the comparable week in 2016 at outlets that report to NPD BookScan. The gain was driven...

Full Story

Sue Grafton dies aged 77.

Dec 29 2017: Sue Grafton, author of the alphabetically titled detective series that began in 1982 with "A Is for Alibi," died of cancer on Thursday night in Santa Barbara, Calif. She was 77.

With the publication of her latest book in August, Ms. Grafton’s alphabetical series had ...

Full Story

Book World, the fourth-largest bookstore chain in the USA, to close.

Dec 28 2017: Book World, the fourth-largest bookstore chain in the USA is closing. Founded in 1976, Book World sold hardcovers, paperbacks and sometimes tobacco in malls, downtowns and vacation areas across the Upper Midwest. It endured recessions, the expansion of superstores like ...

Full Story

The pretensions of book thieves...

Dec 28 2017: Electric Lit asks indie bookstores which books are most frequently stolen and why - and finds a link between pretentiousness and book theft. For example, this comment from Lexi Beach, owner of the Astoria bookshop in Queens:

"The conclusion we've come to is that ...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.