Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 3 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Apple e-book refunds begin today

Jun 21 2016: Attorneys today confirmed that $400 million in refunds due readers following the end of the Apple e-book price-fixing case will begin flowing into customer accounts on June 21—with refunds for New York Times bestsellers approaching $7 per title purchased.

In all, the...

    Full Story

    Hastings files for bankruptcy protection, 126 superstores selling new and used books in jeopardy

    Jun 15 2016: Hastings Entertainment, which operates 126 superstores in medium-sized markets selling new and used books, among other things, has voluntarily filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection with its parent company and several sister companies; and is seeking a buyer for its...

      Full Story

      Hamilton wins 11 Tony Awards, one shy of record held by The Producers

      Jun 13 2016: Hamilton, the hit Broadway musical based on the 2004 Ron Chernow biography of Alexander Hamilton (Penguin) has won 11 Tony Awards including best new musical. This is just one award short of the record for a single show - The Producers won 12 in 2001.

      The Color ...

        Full Story

        The ten 2016 recipients of the National Medal for Museum and Library Service

        May 31 2016: The Institute of Museum and Library Services has announced the 10 recipients of the 2016 National Medal for Museum and Library Service, the nation’s highest honor given to museums and libraries for service to the community. For 22 years, the award has celebrated ...

          Full Story

          The Vegetarian wins the Man Booker International Prize

          May 16 2016: South Korean author Han Kang has won the 2016 Man Booker International Prize for her novel The Vegetarian, described by Judging panel chairman Boyd Tonkin as "unforgettably powerful and original".

          The writer and her British translator - who only started learning ...

            Full Story

            7000 attendees enjoyed successful BookCon in Chicago

            May 16 2016: 7000 book fans attended Book Con in Chicago on Saturday. As in the two previous years in New York City, attendees skewed towards significantly more females than males. Some attendees were disappointed that the event was on just one day, unlike last year's BookCon in New...

              Full Story

              In Britain, lit fiction books in translation outsell English language lit fiction

              May 16 2016: Translated literary fiction is selling better on average in the UK than literary fiction originally written in English, according to new research by Nielsen, with authors including Elena Ferrante, Haruki Murakami and Karl Ove Knausgaard driving a boom in sales.

              ...

                Full Story

                Praise for BookExpo America in Chicago, despite slow Wednesday and Friday

                May 16 2016: After a slow start on Wednesday afternoon, BookExpo America kicked into gear on Thursday and concluded on Friday with much praise from many attendees. The somewhat smaller attendance--probably around 18,000--allowed for a more pleasant trade floor experience for many ...

                  Full Story

                  One Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
                    by Bryn Greenwood

                    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.