Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 1 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

New Beatrix Potter tale published today

Sep 06 2016: A new Beatrix Potter tale was published today, two years after the manuscript was unearthed following a clue discovered by Jo Hanks, publisher at Penguin Random House Children's Books, in an out-of-print 1970s literary history of the author.

Hanks found a reference to...

    Full Story

    Elechi Amadi dies aged 82

    Aug 25 2016: Elechi Amadi, "one of the founding generation of African novelists in English," died June 29 aged 82. The Guardian reports that his work "was greatly admired by his fellow writers in Nigeria, and he had a large readership throughout Africa, but undeservedly he did not ...

      Full Story

      Kickstarter hits $100m mark on publishing projects

      Aug 22 2016: Kickstarter, the crowdfunding venture that allows individuals to donate money to support a variety of projects, marked a milestone last week, recording more than $100 million in pledges to general-publishing projects since it launched in 2009.

        Full Story

        Publishers express frustration at sacking of B&N's CEO

        Aug 22 2016: Publishers have been expressing their frustration in the wake of the sudden and unexpected dismissal of Barnes & Noble CEO Ron Boire last week, just a year after he took over as head of the largest bricks-and-mortar bookstore chain in the USA. Boire, formerly head of ...

          Full Story

          New editor for Sunday Book Review

          Aug 18 2016: Pamela Paul, editor of the New York Times Sunday Book Review, has been given an expanded role at the paper. She will now oversee all book coverage for the Times, including the daily Books section, book news, and publishing industry news.

            Full Story

            Three new Harry Potter books publishing as ebooks on September 6.

            Aug 18 2016: In addition to the "Harry Potter and the Cursed Child" London play, also available as a published script, and the upcoming "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" movie, Harry Potter fans now have three new publications to look forward to in 2016 - all publishing ...

              Full Story

              Author Thomas Steinbeck dies aged 72

              Aug 16 2016: Thomas Steinbeck, the eldest son of the novelist John Steinbeck and, later in life, a fiction writer who fought bitterly in a family dispute over his father’s estate, died on Thursday at his home in Santa Barbara, Calif. He was 72.

                Full Story

                US bookstore sales record 10th month of continuous year on year growth

                Aug 15 2016: June USA bookstore sales rose 5%, to $770 million, compared to June 2015, according to preliminary estimates from the Census Bureau. This is the 10th month in a row that bookstore sales have increased.

                  Full Story

                  One-Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: Harmony
                    Harmony
                    by Carolyn Parkhurst
                    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
                  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
                    Commonwealth
                    by Ann Patchett
                    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
                  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
                    A Gentleman in Moscow
                    by Amor Towles
                    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

                  First Impressions

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Blood at the Root

                  Blood at the Root

                  "A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
                  - PW Starred Review

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  D C Y C Before T A H

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.