Reader reviews and comments on The Notebook, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Notebook

by Nicholas Sparks

The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 1996, 214 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 1999, 226 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 16
There are currently 124 reader reviews for The Notebook
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Stacey Ryan (10/13/17)

no dry eye & i love you for that
Nothing, I mean nothing compares to this book. I have read & re-read this book, and I find something different every beautiful time. Thank you Nicholas sparks. Very thought provoking.
Mandy Hurtz (12/21/16)

Did anyone else notice this
The book of a perfect couple? No not all. Hollywood, that's what the people want. Even arguments were romanticized. Lets take another look and see the darkness behind this story.

So we have boy meets girl they fall in love. Immediately the family says he is trouble, and Allie needs to stay away. Allie's family takes her away for her protection. This is where we start to see the darkness inside Noah. He writes her a letter everyday trying to get her back. However nobody ever told Noah, the address. How did he get it? Later we find out that he went to the house. Noah was,stalking and spying on her from an outside window, clearly upset she's happy.

Later Allie sees his house in the newspaper and merely goes to view it. She tries explaining to him it's over, and he gets angry. Tells her it still isn't over and forces himself upon her. Allie stays for a few days and then tries to leave. Noah chases her and doesn't allow it. Not being able to get away from him, she leaves her fiance. Then Noah and her fight, she asks why do we do this, wanting to end it. Noah insists that just what they do name call, scream and fight its how they are.

Fast forward to the kids at the nursing home and what do they say and do. Tell their father that he just needs to leave her alone, let her be in peace. He states that he just can't do that. Another detail is they never even show Noah proposing to Allie, or a wedding. He wears a band but she does not. Never once during him reading is a wedding mentioned either. It's really sad. This poor woman got Alzheimers and was finally able to forget and move on from this psycho. Noah just couldn't have that everyday he forced her to remember.
Hollywood depicts it as being romantic but any woman who's been a victim can see beyond that.

Let's summarize this story. Clearly its not about two people being in love. It's about a woman who no matter how hard she tries, just can't get away from this guy.
Zach Melton (04/01/14)

Da Bestest
I was really touched by this book.
Erin (03/11/13)

A Beautiful Love Story
The Notebook is an enchanting love story that's impossible to put down. It gives all women a sense of a fairy tale and what real love can be. It was an incredible book written with beautiful emotion.
isobelle (02/20/12)

awesome
This book sweeps me off my feet. I can't imagine how Nicholas Sparks created this story through his imagination. The characters are the "best". The words he uses and the emotions are so real.
Jacinda (02/02/12)

The Notebook Review
The notebook is a love story by Nicholas Sparks. It’s told in many different ways; when they are old, teenagers, and in their 30’s. It’s about a young girl named Allie, who comes from a very wealthy, and some would say stuck up, family who falls in love with Noah. Noah came from a lower class family, and there was a problem with her parents.
The two main characters are Allie Nelson and Nah Calhoun. Allie is an elderly woman who lives in a retirement home and has Alzheimer’s. Noah is also an elderly man who works there and tries to help his precious wife Allie, remember him again.
There are two major conflicts, one being described as past tense and one in present time. The first conflict in present time was when the old version of Allie suffers from Alzheimer’s so she can’t remember her past, present, or he hopeful husband. Her husband is known to her as just some random guy, but to him, she is his prized possession. Noah tries to get her to remember their life together by reading the story of their lives they wrote together. Unfortunately, it takes almost all day for her to remember, if she even does. The other conflict is after Allie’s parents broke them up when they were teenagers; she fell in love with him again when she went to see him 14 years later. The only problem was she was engaged. She was forced to choose between the two guys she loved. She obviously chose Noah because their loved stayed together even through not talking for 14 years.
The theme of this story to me personally, was two things. One, that even when people have a serious disease as Allie did, anything is possible. The other theme I got from this book is that if you love someone, you shouldn’t let anyone, including your family break you two up. And if it’s meant to be, it will happen.
In my opinion, I think this was an inspirational, good book. It was just like Disney fairytales, but more realistic. Noah was no prince charming, he didn’t have millions of dollars or nice things, but it could really happen. I recommend this book for girls more than boys.
Sarah Marie (12/16/11)

Real Treat! (:
I love this book ! It was unbelievably good! Nicholas Sparks knows how to pull on his readers emotions. i end up the same way for all his books, crying. he has great talent and i hope that he doesn't give up on his AMAZING talent. KEEP WRITING BOOKS Mr. Sparks ! :)
number1 (11/12/11)

The Notebook
This book is one you can not put down. It is based on a man reading a journal to his wife who has Alzheimers. It is about their love story but she does not know it. It is a romantic, heart wrenching story that you will need a box of tissues for. I recommend this book to the fullest extent.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice


Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

An eye-opening and riveting look at how how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Never Coming Back
    by Alison McGhee

    A moving exploration of growing up and growing old, and the ties that bind parents and children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.