Reader reviews and comments on The Notebook, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Notebook

by Nicholas Sparks

The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks X
The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 1996, 214 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 1999, 226 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 16
There are currently 124 reader reviews for The Notebook
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

emily52 (12/01/08)

heart-wrenching
I had seen the movie before I read the book, which is usually a mistake, however when I found out the movie was from a book I immediately bought it. If you cried at the movie, you best have a box of tissues handy as its even sadder! As books often do, the characters are much more alive in the book and it is incredibly well written. Heart-wrenching is an understatement.

A beautiful love story, possibly the most beautiful ever told. A tale never forgotten. It is one for the romantics, love conquers all.
tayler. (10/22/08)

awesome book.
This is the best book I've ever read! (:
Maya (10/17/08)

Extremely poor
As a point of view in literature it's extremely lacking in all senses, characters, story is too predictable, and the end stupid. Even for a girl it's a torture to read it. People might like it because it's sentimental, but you don't need a book to cry, for that we already have films, it can be a great film but has a book it's not worth!
Ashley (09/13/08)

The Notebook is AMAZING!!!!!
This is the best book ever. It makes me cry every time I read it. He does so well describing Noahs and Allies love and it makes me wish for the same thing. this is defiantly a book for all of those who are major softies and have a desire for true and everlasting love! I would recommend this book to everyone!!1
katarina (01/31/08)

the notebook
I give this a 5 because the author Nicholas Sparks wrote it in a way no other author I know could have written a book, not just how he goes back to the older man reading but how he wrote the words they give life to every page it was like you were there.
Courtney (01/15/08)

A Book Worth Picking Up
I saw the movie and then found out that The Notebook was actually based off of a novel written by Nicholas Sparks.
However, I was disappointed. It was still an excellent book, but what I liked most about the movie was that it revolved around their summer romance when they were younger. But in the book, it doesn't have anything like that really. It mentions a few things, but overall it's more about Noah and Allie getting back together.
I liked the movie better, just because half the movie's about them when they were younger. However, The Notebook is still on my bookshelf as one of the best reads I've ever picked up. I enjoyed reading it.
BMQ (11/06/07)

The Notebook
The book The Notebook was very good. it had a very good message to it which was to listen to your heart. When you are stuck in a situation that needs solving, you listen to your heart and do what you think is best. When Allie went and visited Noah, and became close to him, she didn't know what to say to her husband, Lon, about it. My dad used to date a girl. after i started going over to my best friends house and became close to them, he got close to their mom. my dad did what he thought was best for everybody and broke up with his old girlfriend and started dating my friends' mom. now everybody is happy and o one would want anything to be any other way. Listen to your heart.
shandi (04/19/07)

Danggg!!
It is soooo good.
It makes me cry every time I read it, it so sweet.!!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.