Reader reviews and comments on Across the Nightingale Floor, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Across the Nightingale Floor

Tales of the Otori, Volume I

by Lian Hearn

Across the Nightingale Floor
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2002, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2003, 323 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 8 of 9
There are currently 68 reader reviews for Across the Nightingale Floor
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Mary (03/21/03)

I'm from Brazil, and i bought the portuguese version of it. In my opinion, it's an excelent book! One of those you cannot stop reading until ypu reach the end.
Anonymous (03/14/03)

it was a wonderful book. Can't wait for the next one.
BookBrowse (01/21/03)

Liam Hearn is a pseudonym for a relatively well known author of children's books. Click on the author link at the top of these reviews to learn more.

... Davina, BookBrowse.com
SAL (01/21/03)

Fantastic book , my wife suggested it me after reading a review in one of her magazines , Liam Hearn NEVER heard of him before , waiting for the next book , i would recommend this book to anyone , has a good plot , plenty of action e.t.c and a little magic.
Nicolas James Garner (12/27/02)

This book has the clear markings of a brilliant and creative mind. Liam Hearn has just managed to create a wonderful work of fiction that left a seasoned reader like me craving for more. The relationship between Takeo, Shigeru and the enchanting world of the Otori shows the bearing of a book destined to be a movie!! (By the way, where are the other two books????)



The author has already written all three books so expect the next volume about a year after the first, and the third a year later - this is standard practise by publishers, designed to build sales/interest over a period of time - Davina, BookBrowse.com
Dennis (12/02/02)

Great Read. I couldnt' put it down.
Jon Ellis (11/03/02)

Across the nightingale floor writes of a magnificent journey of an unlikely assassin with tremendous talents through his search for revenge and love. this novel reminds me of the game Shogun:Total War and i recomend both to anyone.
Joseph Marchisella (10/23/02)

Lian Hearns "Across The Nightingale Floor" is a well constructed and vey entertaining read. The similarities in social stucture between those presented in the book and Fuedal Japan are startling and numerous. On the flip side of the coin the explanation that it exists in a fantasy world gives the book a rare double edged blade of depth. Thank you.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.