Reader reviews and comments on Across the Nightingale Floor, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Across the Nightingale Floor

Tales of the Otori, Volume I

by Lian Hearn

Across the Nightingale Floor
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2002, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2003, 323 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 6 of 9
There are currently 68 reader reviews for Across the Nightingale Floor
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Mallous (11/11/03)

This book is a thrilling read, packed with suspence and excitement that brings to life japanese culture. This is a flawless, spellbinding book. It is a book that will change your aspect of the world. It has all the elements of the life of a teenager. I would recommend this book to anyone.
lissie (10/26/03)

i loved this book from cover 2 cover.because of the amazing description of the magical ancient world its set in, its irresistable love tale, and its powerful fight between calns, across the nightingale is the best book i think i have ever read. defnetly worth a read. (age 15)
Joy (09/30/03)

I thought this book was brilliant. If you enjoy similar books you'll LOVE this one. it is emotional at the end, had me and my friends in tears when we read it and it was sooo gripping I couldn't put it down. Thanks to the author and publishers of this book. It is a REALLY worth while read. I cant wait to read the rest.
shortstuff (09/15/03)

I love this book because it keeps u hangin there, u know, like you don't know what will happen nxt. I LOVE books that do that.



4 reasons why u should read this book r,



1. I can almost garuntee that u won't b able 2 put it down.



2. The plot is brill, it will keep u guessing



3. This totally tugs at ur heartstrings folks, I cried sooo hard at the end



4. It leaves u in suspense so u can't wait 2 read the nxt book
Animefun (09/12/03)

Best bok i have read in a long time
Bubblegumgirl (09/10/03)

I suppose what I read of this book was ok. I mean I read like the 1st few chapters then BOOM, I just could not be bothered to read it anymore! I think that this sudden dislike had something to do with the fact that reading this book was HOMEWORK.

Luv Bubblegumgirl x

Phillip (08/16/03)

This book is absolutly great. It has a well thought out, well paced and well realised storyline that grips you from the beginning. THe action, when it is described, is portrayed with an appropriate level of detail and is exciting enough to keep you interested. There is little to fault about this book, all aspects of it are handled sensitively and obviously well researched. Can't wait for Grass For his Pillow!
grandcannon (07/10/03)

I believe that a book should be an emotional rollercoaster, an engrossing plot and compatable characters. Across The Nightingale Floor has all three. So, you'll think, you stupid person, why aren't you giving it a 5. Well, if it didn't have a rape scene and the fact that I have a recurring dream that I'm getting a needle poked in my eye then i would be giving it a 5. But, I'll admit, though, this is a great read and after reading it three times I cannot wait for Book 2; which I hope will be just as absorbing as the spectacular first book. Oh yeah, if you want your sleep, don't pick up this book cos you won't sleep for a while.8:P
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.