Famous literary quotes with a biography of each quoted person.

BookBrowse's Favorite Literary Quotes

Page 1 of 6

Beware the man of one book

Books are the carriers of civilization

Censorship, like charity, should begin at home: but unlike charity, it should end there.

Chance favors only the prepared mind

Children are not the people of tomorrow, but people today.

Choose an author as you would a friend.

Common sense is genius dressed in its working clothes.

Courage - a perfect sensibility of the measure of danger, and a mental willingness to endure it.

Dictators ride to and fro on tigers from which they dare not dismount. And the tigers are getting hungry

Discovery consists of seeing what everybody has seen and thinking what nobody has thought.

Don't join the book burners...

Education is the period during which you are being instructed by somebody you do not know, about something you do not want to know.

Every good journalist has a novel in him - which is an excellent place for it.

Everywhere I go, I am asked if I think the university stifles writers...

Experience is not what happens to you; it's what you do with what happens to you

Failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor

Fanaticism consists in redoubling your effort when you have forgotten your aim

Finishing second in the Olympics gets you silver. Finishing second in politics gets you oblivion.

Flaming enthusiasm, backed up by horse sense and persistence, is the quality that most frequently makes for success

From the moment I picked your book up...

Give me the luxuries of life and I will willingly do without the necessities.

Good as it is to inherit a library, it is better to collect one.

Great literature cannot grow from a neglected or impoverished soil...

Happiness belongs to the self sufficient

Happiness makes up in height for what it lacks in length.

Harvard is the storehouse of knowledge because the freshmen bring so much in and the graduates take so little out.

He has only half learned the art of reading who has not added to it the more refined art of skipping and skimming.

He who opens a door, closes a prison

Hell hath no fury.... like a woman scorned

I always find it more difficult to say the things I mean than the things I don't.

I am what the librarians have made me with a little assistance from a professor of Greek and a few poets

I find that a great part of the information I have was acquired by looking something up and finding something else on the way.

I have always imagined that paradise will be a kind of library

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.