Who said: "Harvard is the storehouse of knowledge because the freshmen bring so much in and the graduates take so little out."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Charles Eliot William"Harvard is the storehouse of knowledge because the freshmen bring so much in and the graduates take so little out."
– Charles W Eliot, former president of Harvard.


While the original quote is specific to a single institution, this is a useful quote to store away and adapt as needed!

Charles William Eliot (1834-1926) was president of Harvard for 40 years, from 1869 to 1909. Born to a distinguished New England family, Eliot graduated from Harvard and then taught math and chemistry there for five years before leaving to spend two years in Europe where he studied chemistry and teaching methods, after which he returned to the USA to be a professor at MIT.

In 1869, having attracted favorable attention for his articles on education reform, he was chosen president of Harvard. During his tenure he radically altered Harvard, transforming it into a modern university. His best known reform was to the elective system through which undergraduates could choose from a wide variety of courses in each field rather than follow a fixed curriculum. By offering many advanced courses to undergraduates, Eliot was able to employ outstanding scholars who divided their time between the graduate and undergraduate schools. Under his guidance, Harvard earned a reputation for academic excellence and as a leading center for graduate study and research.

Eliot was also active in the National Education Association (NEA) championing secondary education, and was a strong influence on the 1892 report that led to the standardizing of college prep and admissions. He helped found the College Entrance Examination Board in 1906. He is also responsible for editing the 20-volume The Harvard Classics (1910), "a five-foot shelf" of outstanding books through which those unable to attend college might gain a liberal education.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.