Who said: "Fanaticism consists in redoubling your effort when you have forgotten your aim"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Fanaticism consists in redoubling your effort when you have forgotten your aim - George Santayana

Spanish American philosopher and writer George Santayana lived most of the first fifty years of his life in the USA and wrote in English, but remained a Spanish citizen for life. He was born Jorge Agustín Nicolás Ruiz de Santayana y Borrás in Madrid, in 1863. At the age of nine he and his father moved to the USA to join George's mother and her three children by her first marriage (she had promised her first husband, a Boston merchant, that his children would be brought up in the USA). The marriage disintegrated soon after and George's father returned to Spain; George did not see him again until his late teens when he was able to take summer vacations in Europe.

Santayana attended Harvard University where he studied philosophy under William James and Josiah Royce. On graduating he studied in Berlin before returning to Harvard to write his dissertation and to teach. His students included T.S. Eliot, Robert Frost, Walter Lippman, Gertrude Stein and WEB Du Bois.

Although Santayana was raised and educated in the USA, and wrote in English, he remained a life-long Spanish citizen, returning to Europe in 1912 when he was forty-eight, never to return to the USA again. He spent some years in France and England, eventually settling in Rome where he lived until his death in 1952.

He wrote nineteen books in total including his main philosophical work, The Sense of Beauty (1896). After moving to Europe, he was able to live comfortably on money he had saved and a legacy from his mother, which was nicely supplemented late in life by the success of his only novel, The Last Puritan (1935).

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.