Who said: "Flaming enthusiasm, backed up by horse sense and persistence, is the quality that most frequently makes for success"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Flaming enthusiasm, backed up by horse sense and persistence, is the quality that most frequently makes for success" – Dale Carnegie

Dale CarnegieDale Breckenridge Carnegie (1888–1955), born Carnagey, was an American writer and lecturer best remembered for his extremely popular courses on self-improvement, salesmanship, public speaking and interpersonal skills.

Born in Maryville, Missouri, the son of a poor farmer, Carnegie managed to keep up with his education despite getting up at 4 a.m. to milk the cows. After college he sold correspondence courses to ranchers, then moved to selling food products. After saving $500 he quit his job in 1911 in the hope of becoming a traveling lecturer, but instead he ended up at the American Academy of Dramatic Arts in New York. Finding little success as an actor he got the idea of teaching public speaking and persuaded the manager of the YMCA where he was staying in in New York to let him instruct a class in return for 80% of the net proceeds. The Dale Carnegie Course evolved from this modest start.

One of his most canny marketing moves was to change the spelling of his last name from Carnagey to Carnegie - the same spelling used by the well known, but unrelated, industrialist and philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. In 1916, four years after his first lecture, Dale Carnegie was sufficiently well known that he was able to rent Carnegie Hall in New York, and conduct a lecture to a packed house.

Although not the only book he wrote, he is best remembered as the author of How to Win Friends and Influence People (1936). By the time of his death of Hodgkin's disease in 1955, the book had sold more than five million copies in 31 languages, and 450,000 had graduated from the Dale Carnegie Institute.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World That We Knew
    The World That We Knew
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's sparkling prose and immersive descriptions of place summon readers into World War II...
  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Seine
    by Elaine Sciolino

    "A soulful, transformative voyage along the body of water that defines the City of Light."
    —Lauren Collins
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Ordinary Girls
    by Jaquira Díaz

    Reminiscent of Tara Westover's Educate and Roxane Gay's Hunger--a memoir that reads as electrically as a novel.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.