Reader reviews and comments on Memoirs of a Geisha, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Memoirs of a Geisha

by Arthur Golden

Memoirs of a Geisha
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1997, 434 pages
    Jan 1999, 434 pages

  • Rate this book

Buy This Book

About this Book


Page 1 of 13
There are currently 104 reader reviews for Memoirs of a Geisha
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

carlos (12/06/09)

Sayuri tells her story with such gentle courtesy and determination that you are quickly brought under the spell of her character. She takes you by the hand and leads you into a world that is both formal and intimate, a world that I had only before glimpsed in the fleeting and beautiful images of traditional Japanese ink painting...Memoirs of a Geisha is a wonderful achievement.
Marg Riel (11/15/09)

Memoirs of A Geisha can be described as one word; "masterpiece." Each detail creates an unexplainable imagine and you can envision yourself in the story. The author tells her story willingly and purposely allows the reader to put themselves in her shoes as she tells you about each step of her journey through life. This book is has some advanced concepts at times, but I believe should be recommended to people of all ages both men and women. A certain respect can be gained from this book.
Linda Gear (09/15/09)

Memoirs of a Geisha
I love this book. It will always be near me. I have read it numerous times and never tire of it.
I read other books, but this one is always nearby.(I also have the movie).
I love the dialogue of Sayuri her raw story of being cruelly taken from her home, and her deliverance from her fate.
Her faith and her strength to keep fighting for her wish, even though many times it certainly looked like she was doomed.
The words between her and the Chairman at the end of the book are so unbelievably sweet and real. I love these characters.
This book comforts me every time I pick it up.
Many thanks to Arthur Goldman for your wonderful work, you have won my heart with this eloquent story, and have kept me sane.
sayuri (09/05/09)

Nice! Captivating!
Jamila Younis (04/26/09)

If you'd like to enrich your knowledge with the extraordinary history of the Geisha issue in the Japanese folks - then I highly recommend on you to read this novel.
It is really rich with exact details- even the minimal features- of things. The writer seems very talented and has an attractive way to makes things be - feel and look - Japanese. Enjoy reading- like I did.
Gene R. Hyde (04/21/09)

Memoirs of a Geisha
I thought it was an elegantly written book, not without controversy, about a culture I’m truly fascinated with. I could vividly see myself in a Japanese Tea House, and all of the exquisite richness of simplicity, obsessive love, and pain, while reading this book. The immense detail in which the author researched and quality of his prose made this novel immensely enjoyable.
Corey (03/18/09)

Very diifferent
This has to got to be one of the best books I have ever read. I love the author's style of writing it gave me the impression that this was written by the girl who lived through all of this, that's how much detail to Japanese culture there is. I would recommend this book to anyone really, although I'm sure only a select few of kids would enjoy it.
Kristina-Marie (08/16/08)

This book was beyond amazing
I am a fussy reader. Really, really fussy. If a book doesn't have me entertained within the first three sentences then that's it and I am gone. However there came to be a difference with 'Memoirs of a Geisha', it has a quality of elegance in it's style of writing and it's grasp of Japanese culture. This book was beyond amazing, and truly the best fiction novel I have ever read in my life. Worth every word to read and leaves you smiling when it's finished. The memoirs of Sayuri and her journey are purely fascinating and will leave you with a secret love for anything to do with kimono's, tea houses or Japanese theater :)

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: So Say the Fallen
    So Say the Fallen
    by Stuart Neville
    Noir crime fiction – Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett anyone? – is an American invention...
  • Book Jacket: The Mothers
    The Mothers
    by Brit Bennett
    Every now and then the publishing industry gushes about a young author destined to become the next ...
  • Book Jacket
    by Tom Jackson
    Growing up in Mumbai in the '70s, I still remember herbs kept fresh in small glasses of water, ...
Book Discussions
Book Jacket
The Bone Tree
by Greg Iles

An epic trilogy of blood and race, family and justice.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    North of Crazy
    by Neltje

    The remarkable life of a woman who carves her own singular path.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Les Parisiennes
    by Anne Sebba

    How the women of Paris lived, loved, and died under Nazi occupation.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Next
    by Stephanie Gangi

    Fast-paced, wickedly observant, and haunting in the best sense of the word.

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win The World of Poldark

Win the book & DVD

Enter to win The World of Poldark and the full first series on DVD.


Word Play

Solve this clue:

One S D N M A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.


Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!

Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.