Reader reviews and comments on Memoirs of a Geisha, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Memoirs of a Geisha

by Arthur Golden

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden X
Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1997, 434 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 1999, 434 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 13
There are currently 104 reader reviews for Memoirs of a Geisha
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

stacey (02/05/05)

Memiors of a Geisha was truly a wonderful book. It was so realistic that I felt as though I fell into the novel's world. I felt like I was in Japan during that time and experiencing everything through her eyes. I couldn't believe that Sayuri was a fictional character. If she wasn't, I would want to meet her! Also, I found out they are making a movie from this amazing novel and it will be out later in the year of 2005. For those who haven't read it, you must!
Estrellita (01/27/05)

This book is really so wonderful , i haven't even finished it completely yet and i had to comment on it , i cannot , i repeat cannot put it down. The story is so beautifully written . I reccomend it very highly.
Angela (01/26/05)

stunning story ever told
Kim (01/24/05)

This is the best book I've ever read. Not only does it make me not want to put it down but I've never felt so close to a character such as Nitta Sayuri. She tells her story with such emotion that I myself got so drawn into the story that I felt a part of me was missing when I finished the book.
It is a compelling story that has opened up my eyes to a world I didn't know existed before this book. It is a fantastic book and I would recommend it to everyone.
Kathy (01/22/05)

No story has ever stuck with me the way this one has. I rarely read a book more than once, but I have read this one four times, and I can't get enough of it. When it's over, I feel empty as if I've lost touch with a close friend. This gorgeously written novel is a true masterpiece.
Tami (01/17/05)

This is one of the most enchanting novel i have read. It feels like the geisha is talking to you directly.... Must read...
rosi (12/09/04)

This book is the most captivating work of fiction that I have ever read. I loved the way the author supported and enhanced his dreamy romance with harsh basis in reality. However, I dislike (this is my only complaint) the message that is transmitted that a bright, attractive, ambitious girl will lead an unfulfilled life until she finds a man to dote on. But I do see how this message is relavent to that culture in that time, and how it lends to the fairy-tale romance in the book. Overall, this was a wonderful experience!
Gabe (11/18/04)

This book capturs you from the first page to the last. I could not put it down. Read it in 4 days. You really feel for the characters and can see and feel all her emotions. A must read for everybody.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.