Reader reviews and comments on Memoirs of a Geisha, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Memoirs of a Geisha

by Arthur Golden

Memoirs of a Geisha
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1997, 434 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 1999, 434 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 6 of 13
There are currently 104 reader reviews for Memoirs of a Geisha
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Sumedha (08/09/04)

A lovely tale of a Kyoto geisha's discipline and endurance.
The finest steel is tempered in the hottest fire. And dreams do come true.
Amy (07/07/04)

Memoirs of geisha is a brilliant book depicting the story of a young girl growing up to become a geisha is the district Gion of Kyoto. The book is written such a way that you feel as you are see the world through Sayuri's life through her hardships and happiness. I highly recommend this book, despite its slight flat ending, though this is deffiantly made up by the rest of the book. Lets hope Arthur Golden has a few more hidden surprises up his sleeves.
Rose I (06/27/04)

greatly written, it take you in a world you may not have understood and clairly paints the picture so you can see it. Arthur Golden wrote a marvellous first book. I definitely recommend it.
Masako (06/10/04)

i loved it, beautifully written and unique, with so much emotion involved. While reading this book anyone will feel as if they have entered into another world. A world that is now slightly dissapearing. Read it and you'll believe me when i say that it is the most fantastic book .ever
BOB (06/10/04)

The research and time spent in the writing of this book must of been enormous. It seems authentic, believable and romantic like a fairy tale at the same time. You fall in love with the characters and they seem like friends so you feel love nad compassion for them feel their pain, joy and jealously.
tsering (05/20/04)

This book should get three thumbs up... it's very well written... the author has written it so beautifully and simple... It makes you cry and happy... one of my "ALL TIMES FAVORITE..."
Pablo Cardenas (05/14/04)

i love this book. im actually into it and i've never read a book all the way until now. thank you. i hope to meet a geisha some day.
Tamara (05/09/04)

A fantastically decieving story relayed with such attention to detail that i felt emmersed in the until now secretive world of the geisha. Brilliantly captivating, a new favourite that is sure to become and old one. I recomend it to everyone!!!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.