Reader reviews and comments on The Secret Life of Bees, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Secret Life of Bees

by Sue Monk Kidd

The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd X
The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2002, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2003, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 9
There are currently 70 reader reviews for The Secret Life of Bees
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

kimpete (04/13/05)

Secret Life of Bees
I was hoping by the length that it would be quick read but I didn't feel like picking it up whenever I had the chance. I felt it took too long to reach the denouement and found myself wondering what's the author's point in writing this book. I found it rather unbelievable at times (Would a grown women at any time leave her life/home to go with a teenager no matter what her race?) but was definitely rooting for Lily and Rosaleen to make it work in a new place. Not a top recommendation but not too bad either. I know people who enjoyed more than I.
Timothy Martinez (02/22/05)

Beautiful Story. Great Drama and what a life for Lily. I compare my life with hers. The way Lily suffered is heartbraking. This story teaches you to love and think about others more than yourself. I love you Corinne Quinette. I think about you night and day.

- Timothy Martinez of Hahnville, Louisiana
Amy (02/17/05)

What an enjoyable read! I loved the part when Lily examines her piss in the woods. Really showed how we should all get along.
Corinna Bonk (02/07/05)

This book is SO heartwarming. It truly gives you hope of life and its inspiring, as well as uplifting. From the sympathetic storyline to the amazingly put together characters... its, a must read by all!
Larissa (02/04/05)

I thought this book was a fantastic piece of writing which Kidd did an excellent work on. Her words and the way Lily is portraied in this novel is absolutely wonderful. The setting is extremly overwhelming and i think this novel should be read by anyone who likes books based on Coming-to-age type feels. Age: 15.
Monique Kennedy (01/20/05)

It's alright for what it is but it aint all that.
Annie (01/14/05)

age 14:This was one of the best books I have ever read it was an inspirational book about a girl my age growing up in South Carolina during a rough period, and also evolving from a girl into a women without the guidence to get her through, We were just given this book to read as a school thing I loved it so much I was on a panel at our local library and I also tried kneeling on grits! (don't do it! its very painfull) this book is probaly one of my Favorites!
Anna (01/12/05)

this is a realllllly good book that has one of the best messages for young girls that any book could have. i highly reccomend this to any one looking for a good enjoyable reading book!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.