Reader reviews and comments on The Secret Life of Bees, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Secret Life of Bees

by Sue Monk Kidd

The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd X
The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2002, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2003, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 7 of 9
There are currently 70 reader reviews for The Secret Life of Bees
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Tracey (03/24/04)

Sue Monk Kidd has written a wonderful coming-of-age story with dashes of humor and scenes of intense drama. The strongest point in this book are the amazing ladies she has created - Lily, Rosaleen, May, June and August. Each one is unique and makes an impression on the reader. The portrayal of the racial tensions of the 1960s adds even more to an already moving and powerful story.
Vera B (02/12/04)

The book is of the highest literary form, yet the everyday dialogue of the south makes the story so real. Poetry in prose!! Ms. Kidd, in fresh and original language, reveals the mind and heart of the main character, and her fierce determination to protect the one person she loves. The book grabs you right at the first page and does not let you go till you find the outcome of the jorney of the characters. Shades of "To Kill a Mockinbird", and "The Heart is a Lonely Hunter" both of which have been favorite books of mine. I hope we hear more from Ms. Kidd soon, I can't wait.
Linda (01/15/04)

This is a read out loud book for any age. I read it to my 18 y.o. daughter, and sometimes my mom and sister were included. It was full of humor and sadness and so much rich imagery that is specifically related to al stages of our lives as women. It bonded us together in a way that would not have happened if we read it individually. Some people have not appreciated it because they do not understand the Catholic references to Mary. Also, because it takes place in the 60's, it is difficult for us to re-visit our own issues around racism. It is by far the best book I have read inn 2003 and I look forward to more. My daughter would say the same. I would give this book a 10!
N. Hubrich (11/15/03)

I really liked this book, it is written beautifully. Enjoyable, easy to read, but a little slow.
janeI did not like this book (11/10/03)

I did not like this book at all. Written from the point of view of a l4-year old girl, this novel is well-suited to a high school audience.
natalie (10/09/03)

THis was an enjoyable book. It captvated me and kept me wanting more. A great fast read great for many ages. Share this book with someone you know they will be grateful forever.
Dawn (10/09/03)

A wonderfully honest peek into what life in 1960's era South Carolina was really like.
sue (09/28/03)

This is a wonderul book and outstanding novel!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.