Reader reviews and comments on The Secret Life of Bees, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Secret Life of Bees

by Sue Monk Kidd

The Secret Life of Bees
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2002, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2003, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 8 of 9
There are currently 70 reader reviews for The Secret Life of Bees
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Brooke (09/23/03)

While the book isn't perfect - no book is, really - the story is well-thought out and imaginative, while the characters are definitely much more than names on paper. One of the major things I loved about this book is how it wasn't edited to have perfect grammar, perfect use of the language, etc. Slang, cursing, and realistic writing might seem like poor editing, but in my opinion it just makes the story much easier to understand. After all, who wants to read a formal letter when they can read a note from their best friend?
Linnie (09/01/03)

This is a beautiful and multilayered story. I identified with Lily, in that I lost my mom at a young age, and was left with an uncaring father. I developed a relationship with a friend's mom when she took me in as an older teen. The unconditional love and wisdom that she imparted to me allowed me to grow and thrive. Sue Monk Kidd has an uncanny insight into the complexities of the human spirit.
Ginny (08/16/03)

Simplistic, poorly edited, racist.
Conni C. (08/07/03)

Ireally loved this book and the women. I want to go live with May, August and June.
Robin (07/07/03)

An exceptional read. Outstanding character development made me feel I really knew those folks. The emotions were portrayed in an intense manner. I can't say enough about the characters. The women in the book who were living life with the bees, very interesting learning about bees, I must say I know more now then I ever had. I just can't say enough about this book and the writer. Highly recommend!
Ellie (06/16/03)

The Secret Life of Bees is a compeling tale of family strife, civil rights, Southern history, and is also a beautiful coming of age tale of 14 year old Lily. With vivid imagry and strong, complex characters, Kidd's novel envelops you in the sights, sounds and smells of Lily's world. I couldn't put the book down and cherished how each and every chapter brought you closer to the heart of Lily and the calendar sisters. This clever inventive tale is one of the best I've read in ages.
Nancy Cowan (06/13/03)

Superlative writing. ThisI wonder if any other readers see a parallel between this book and "Clover" by Dori Sanders--another SC writer? There is this parallel in the stories, as well as a twist-- Both stories transpire in the shadows of peach tree orchards. Any comments?
Debbie Rios (06/10/03)

This book was awesome!! My best friend lent me her book and urged me to read it. I couldn't put it down until I was done. I'm going to go buy several copies of the book to share with other friends and family.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.