Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 12 of 249

View abbreviated list of news stories

Court rules that theatrical parody of "How the Grinch Stole Christmas" does not violate copyright.

Sep 17 2017: After a nine month dispute, Manhattan's Federal District Court has ruled that Matthew Lombardo's theatrical parody, Who’s Holiday! — a dark and decidedly adult sequel of sorts to Dr Seuss's How the Grinch Stole Christmas — does not violate the copyright of the original ...

Full Story

English teachers adapt reading lists in the age of Trump

Sep 17 2017: Politico reports on how America's high school English teachers are adapting curriculum to the current political climate:

After watching the tumult of the 2016 presidential election play out inside their classrooms last year, and after a summer of hate-filled violence, ...

Full Story

House Votes to Save Library Funding, and National Endowments for the Arts and Humanities

Sep 17 2017: The $1.2 trillion FY2018 budget bill (H.R. 3354), which passed by a 211-198 margin, includes full funding for the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), including all programs administered under the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA), as well as the ...

Full Story

Roald Dahl’s widow says Charlie Bucket was supposed to be black until editor intervened

Sep 17 2017: The widow and the biographer of the beloved British children's writer Roald Dahl told the BBC in an interview this week that Charlie Bucket, the young boy whose life is changed by a golden ticket in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, was originally supposed to be black....

Full Story

Terry Pratchett exhibit opens at Salisbury Museum

Sep 17 2017: The many sides of one of the UK's most beloved fantasy authors are reflected in an exhibition called Terry Pratchett: HisWorld, which opened this weekend at Salisbury Museum, not far from Terry Pratchett's Wiltshire (UK) "manorette" where he died in March 2015.

The ...

Full Story

Irish-American author J.P. Donleavy dies aged 91

Sep 14 2017: Irish-American author and playwright, James Patrick Donleavy, has died. Best known for his 1955 novel The Ginger Man (originally banned for obscenities), he published a great many other books and plays during his 91 years, many of which are noted in The Guardian's ...

Full Story

Hippo Birdie Two Ewes

Sep 13 2017: Fans of Sandra Boynton's whimsical children's books and greeting cards will enjoy The Washington Post's extensive article titled, "Hippos, birdies, T. rexes, pigs: How Sandra Boynton built an empire and won your child's heart."

Full Story

Jerry Pournelle, titan of science fiction, dies aged 84

Sep 11 2017: Author Jerry Pournelle, a titan of science fiction, has died at the age 84. According to an announcement by the Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America, Pournelle died on Friday. The cause of death was not disclosed. Pournelle had attended Dragoncon a week earlier,...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.