Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 1 of 281

View abbreviated list of news stories

Prequel to The Hunger Games coming in 2020

Jun 17 2019: Scholastic will be publishing another novel in its mega-selling Hunger Games franchise. The trilogy by Suzanne Collins, which launched in 2008 with the titular title, has sold more than 100 million copies worldwide.

The forthcoming work, currently known as "the ...

Full Story

Despite fierce opposition, Strand Bookstore now a NYC landmark

Jun 12 2019: The building that houses the Strand Bookstore at 826 Broadway was designated as a New York City landmark on Tuesday morning, following a contested process and fierce opposition from community members and the bookstore’s owner.

“What they [the LPC commissioners] fail ...

Full Story

Owner of UK book chain to buy B&N

Jun 07 2019: Elliott Management, the U.S. private equity company whose U.K. arm, Elliott Advisors, bought Waterstones last year, is buying Barnes & Noble, B&N announced this morning. Elliott is paying $6.50 a share--well above recent levels--in an all-cash transaction that places ...

Full Story

Entertainment Weekly magazine to be monthly from August

Jun 07 2019: Entertainment Weekly's print magazine, which has continued to provide substantive coverage of books and authors at a time when many other print magazines and newspapers have cut back, will become a monthly publication as of August.

Full Story

Many books aren’t fact-checked, and we’re increasingly realizing they’re full of errors

Jun 05 2019: Writing in Vox, Kelsey Piper looks at the growing concern about "books by prestigious and well-regarded researchers" which "go to print with glaring errors, which are only discovered when an expert in the field, or someone on Twitter, gets a glance at them."

She ...

Full Story

Women's prize for fiction goes to 'utterly moving' Tayari Jones novel

Jun 05 2019: American novelist Tayari Jones’s portrait of a young African American’s wrongful incarceration, and its devastating impact on his marriage has beaten two Booker prize winners to take the Women’s prize for fiction.

Described by chair of judges Kate Williams as a book ...

Full Story

Remembering the Passions of Bob Bernstein, Random House chairman and founder of Human Rights Watch

Jun 02 2019: People are fortunate if they have one great passion in life. Robert L. Bernstein, who died May 27, had three, starting with his family. He also had publishing. For a quarter century, he led Random House Inc., turning it into an enterprise as luminous as it was ...

Full Story

Little Free Library Marks a Decade of Book Sharing

May 28 2019: It has been a year of joy mixed with sorrow for Little Free Library. The Wisconsin nonprofit organization behind the iconic, seemingly ubiquitous containers mounted on posts and filled with books for the taking is celebrating its 10th anniversary this month while still ...

Full Story

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    More News Tomorrow
    by Susan Richards Shreve

    An irresistible portrait of a family drawn together in search of truth.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Girls Burn Brighter
by Shobha Rao

An extraordinary and heart-rending tale of two girls with all the odds against them.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.