Reader reviews and comments on The Red Tent, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Red Tent

by Anita Diamant

The Red Tent by Anita Diamant X
The Red Tent by Anita Diamant
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1997, 321 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 1998, 321 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 6 of 7
There are currently 52 reader reviews for The Red Tent
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

xuan

I think this book was great.
It's like I practically got to live through the Dinah's life.
Really enjoyable.
this guy

pretty good, even from a man's perspective. it definitely gives some interesting interpretations of biblical passages. worth your time if you like to read.
Rachel

I liked this book a lot, but the plot was a little shaky
Rosemary

This story painted the picture that only women are wise. That Almighty God was worshipped only by men and was equal to all the other Gods; Gods made with human hands. That pagan men were wise and caring, while Jewish men were bumbling, stupid and barbaric. It is presented as fiction, but includes enough facts to make it appear as truth. The book, in my opinion, serves anti-semitism.
another guy

unless you are a women or an OB-GYN you will probably have a tough time getting through this book. way too much information for most guys ...
Elizabeth

A con
The title states this to be about the biblical Dinah. It is not. It is about an imaginary character constructed by Diamant. She should be honest and not use the biblical characters as a means to attract readers or to express her feminist views if she is not prepared to stick to the story.
Chris

Disgusting Novel
This book was the most disgusting book I have ever read. Diamant takes prophets of God and turns them into masturbating sex-fiends who can not think with their heads. I skipped the first pornographic section as I was so disgusted by her gross interpretation of how she perceived these men of God to behave. I understand this is a work of fiction, but she uses the Bible as her base and turns beloved Bible characters into people the reader will hate. I am certain Diamant has no respect for the Bible or any of the people in the Bible- otherwise, she never would have written this most distasteful book.
Sarah Politi

The Red Tent
Names of the characters are about the only truth in this book. It is sad when writers misuse holy scriptures for commercial purposes and not for truth.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.