Reader reviews and comments on The Red Tent, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Red Tent

by Anita Diamant

The Red Tent by Anita Diamant X
The Red Tent by Anita Diamant
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1997, 321 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 1998, 321 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 7
There are currently 52 reader reviews for The Red Tent
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Cathy

I loved it, I wish there were more books like this. Even though this was fiction, I felt like the story had lots of truth.
wzdmsekr

I loved this book. I am the mother of three children (all girls). I could not put it down. It left me rejoicing in my life as a woman, mother and wife. There were points in this book where I found myself weeping. I just passed it on to a friend. I hope she enjoys it as much as I. This is a must read.
c

This book draws you into Dinah's life - into her world so vividly that you can almost smell the aroma of breads baking and feel the sand beneath your feet. I was totally captivated.
Jordanna

It was amazing to read, and difficult. For I was young. I was 11 when I read this book and it captivated me through every page. How sad though, my mother asking me to read it. Other than my religion (jewish), I have no understanding of why I was to read it. But by the end of the book, it was clear. It had been needing a listener. It needed and deserved to be read. Because this book is so full of life, and death. It is amazing.
k plum

This book sings. It's impossible to rave enough about it. Anita Diamant creates Dinah's world for us in a way that allows us to see through the dusty words of the Bible to the truth behind it. It is a balm for the soul of any woman of any age. I am incredibly moved by the connection between Dinah and her mothers, and I am also moved by the way Anita Diamant can create love inside relationships where love should have died. Thank you for this gift!
Becky

I am a 15 year old student and I read a large amount and variety of books. These kinds of books to me go beyond personal preference in that the plot might not be the most interesting or the most relative to your life. However, I thought that this was an incredibly well written book that was even in a voice similar to that which the Bible is written in. Being a Christian myself, and knowing of Dinah, the point of view of this book is something incredible for one person to take on. I realize the bias that comes into play when writing this, as the personal views of situations and other things in the book are continually unknown. This is very metaphorical, and is an elaboration of the women in the book of Genesis. It was incredible to read and depict all of the messages, and I would recommend this to any advanced reader.
Ericka

WOW.....words can't even describe how much this book was, it was so many great things mixed into 321 pages! I would recommend it to anyone. I'm only 16 and HAD to read it for English and I was so happy I did. The writing and details were attention grabbing, and the story line just kept me reading, I could put it down. This book made my laugh, cry, hate, so many emotions! I would recommend this to young women because it proves your not alone when you get your first period (even biblical women did) but also they have to be mature enough to handle some of the text and for middle-age women because you can relate to the child births, and to the oldest women because it makes you remember how great your life was. I give it two thumbs and an A+! ENJOY!
Megan

I am only 15, and I thought this book was absolutely amazing. Truly astounding. I couldn't put it down. It is a story for all women to read, whether you are very religious or not. I don't go to church and I'd never even heard of Dinah before reading The Red Tent. It was beautifully written; there was such emotion and passion in the story that when Dinah was in pain, I was in pain. It was a story that really made me think, and after I finished, I didn't want it to be over. The story was moving and different and beautiful all at once. I went back and read parts of it again, and was taken in all over again by the excellence of the story. I'm definately going to buy the book because it was so good. My mom was the one who recommended that I read it, and I'm glad she did. If you are thinking about reading The Red Tent, you won't regret it!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.