Reader reviews and comments on A Man Named Dave, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Man Named Dave

A Story of Triumph and Foregiveness

by Dave Pelzer

A Man Named Dave
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 1999, 284 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2000, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 7 of 36
There are currently 282 reader reviews for A Man Named Dave
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Gina (07/19/04)

I read the first three books last week while at the beach. They kept me so spellbound that I even read while my family and I were at the dog races in Daytona! I was not physically abused as a child but there was some mental/emotional abuse. (I was born in the late fifties) I just wanted to say that I think Dave's books certainly help people to go on with their life and quit feeling sorry for themselves for their parents mistakes. Wonderful job Dave! God Bless you!
Ashley (07/06/04)

A Man Named Dave is a great novel and I recommend all his books to those who are lost. I was beaten a bit as a child... not as bad as David and I have always been terrified that I would hurt my own child. Although I am confused about one thing in the book. In the first book David said that Kevin the youngest boy had bell palsy but then in A Man Named Dave it says that Stan was the slightly retarted child.
kendell (06/28/04)

The Lost Boy is truly an inspiring book but also very sad. It is about a little boy who has to deal with his abusive mother and brothers every day. His father tries to help but ends up drinking all the time to solve his problems. He is finally rescued from the home and sent to a foster home. It turns out to be a Cinderella story.
Brittney (06/14/04)

The lost boy is an inspiring book about a boy named dave that got abused by his mother so he ran away and had to go to foster homes and got in lots of trouble because he really didnt know better and so he then got blamed for steeling a school on fire and he didnt do it and so he had to go to "the Hill" a juvenille hall for something he didnt do , the then got out and he didnt have a foster home to go to and so he was kinda homless for a minute.he then found a home and broke up the home and now doesnt know what to do. This story makes me want to tell the world to get out of abuse asap and never deal with something that bad, PLUS ALWAYS BE A GOOD KID WHEN YOU ARE LIVING IN A FOSTER HOME UNLESS YOU DONT WANT A HOME AT ALL. I woul;d have to say the child called it was my favorite so far but you have to read the following books to see what happens next. I definalty reccomend this book to everyone.
Zal (06/14/04)

The Lost Boy was my first excellent book in my life, I have read a lot of a person find a courage but not like this before I was suprise that my friend would buy from me for $ 50.00 although it actualy cost is $18.04 and it was the last one sold in the shop I do not know what to said but I know u have able to manage which no one able too!!!
Ashleigh (06/10/04)

This book was amazing i had to find out more so hrer i am david pelzer ur are an inspiration thank you
Carissa (06/09/04)

Im 15 years old and I've never been through abuse such as Dave, but i really got attached to his books. I want to know more about what happened after "A Man Named Dave" These books aught to be read be everyone. All three made me cry. I hope they will teach parents about abuse and possibly stop child abuse altogether. Im sure Mr. Pelzer feels the same way.
Samantha (06/06/04)

I am 14 years old and this is what i thought of the book.It's the sadest book there is, reality hit me like a ton of bricks i dont know how dave survived that kind of treatment he was brave god really had a purpose for him to live he wanted dave to tell people how bad child abuse can get no matter how minor or how serious it is, no kid deserves to be treated like that kids are a special gift from god and should be treated it says in the bible sparre the rod spoil the child and thats what i truly belive and after i read the book i prayed no kid should be treated the way his mom treated him thats what i think about the book!!!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.