Reader reviews and comments on A Man Named Dave, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Man Named Dave

A Story of Triumph and Foregiveness

by Dave Pelzer

A Man Named Dave
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 1999, 284 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2000, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 9 of 36
There are currently 282 reader reviews for A Man Named Dave
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Amanda (04/06/04)

This was a great book and i have a friend that does though alot of stuff
every weekend her mom has parties everyone gets drunk (the mom friends) and she hates it
when the party gets over her mom come up and yells at her like none other i wish that i could do more but all i can do now is pray and hope for the best
Dave Pelzer you bombest!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
lol
luv yah
buh bye
Always luv,
AmAnDa



<< Dont ever tell yourself that something wont happen because someday it just might becaome you dream!!! >>

claire (04/03/04)

Thankyou David Pezler. Im now 19 but growing up as a child I carried A heavy secret on my shoulders. I went through 6 years of sexual abuse by a family member. It all stopped but later on in my life I found out that the things that happened to me soon started happening to a younger sibling of mine. I blamed my self, I started to go down a path that would lead me to hell. Then I read Davids book.
I have read all books many times,In fact I now use them for refrence. Knowing that there are people in the world that have been through the same things helped me to understand that i was being very selfish. If David can do it, then so can I. Davids books didnt only help me theyve help many people. Because of Davids currage, I have learnt the better way of life. I now see a future in my self and I am always striving to better myself. Thankyou David you have helped my to change my life for the best. And although I havent met this man I am truely in love with him and his work.

After reading more of your reveiws, it comes to light that there are many of you going through the same things. I really feel i need to meet this man. David has been like a hand leading me to the right direction. If I had never read his books then I would still be on the same path. David has taught me to forgive as hard as it can be it works. When I decided to forgive the man who caused me and my own so much pain it was like a big weight had been lifted from me. I will never forget what has happened but I will use it to make myself a better person. I have a strong desire to meet him to let him know how thankfull i am. But we all know that David is a very busy man. I will let him get on with helping the people that still need him. I will try to help the people that need me. I feel that I have Learnt so much from a book. The funny thing is i never resd books, i could never get in to them. But I couldnt put Davids down.
Navdeep Sahota (03/28/04)

I am thirteen and i read this book when i was twelve. Being of indian origin i have a strict up gringing and my parents often hit me, but that it nothijg compaerd to what david pezler has been thorugh. i would want to meet him if i could. maybe one day i will. but im a young person having read tyhis book saying it will make you think very differently about life. read it and find out.
britteny rochell (03/26/04)

its sad to see what this man has gone through.good luck with your life and may god bless you
unknown (03/09/04)

Dave Pelzer's books help me a great deal. The past two years have not been easy for my family. I am 13 years old and my parents just finalized their divorce. Mr. Pelzer's books have encouraged me. Helped me see life better. They have given me the courage to live life to the fullest! He made it through harder times than I have EVER had. A Child Called "It" especially touched me. I hope to get to read more books of his that come out in the future! Thank you!
swat (03/01/04)

i liked this book alot because i have gone through abuse before. NOT as bad as his though. He had the courage to survive and so did I. i love all of his books and hope he writes more.
Janet Owens (01/27/04)

WELL FOR ME I NEVER EXPERICED ANYTHING LIKE THIS BUT IT TOUCHED ME A GREAT DEAL AND KNOW I'M DOING MY REASEARCH PAPER ON HIM AS A CHILD UNTIL HE GREW UP.
Kelly Jo Sand (01/07/04)

I like the book and when i am reading it. it makes me think that i thought i had it bad but know i dont think that way.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.