Reader reviews and comments on A Man Named Dave, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Man Named Dave

A Story of Triumph and Foregiveness

by Dave Pelzer

A Man Named Dave by Dave Pelzer X
A Man Named Dave by Dave Pelzer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 1999, 284 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2000, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 10 of 36
There are currently 282 reader reviews for A Man Named Dave
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Lissa Walker (12/04/03)

I really think this is a good book and who ever like to read sad books then they could read this one it really good. I am looking forward into reading the next Dave Pelzer
debbie y. (12/03/03)

This book " The Lost Boy" really touch my heart...I know how it felt when someone get abuse..because i am one of them. But I hold on tight and just keep on moving on.
bart (11/26/03)

This book made me cry and happy at the same time.i had to go throw want dave had to go throw. it is hard.but i just kept on praying to go. know my brothers live with a nother famliy and me and my sister are in a nother. we see each onther all the time.but we all happy now.
Bree (11/25/03)

Great story but it is sad it had to happen to a child but I'm glad he lived to tell us. This book made me cry till the end!! I'm 24 years old
Jessica (11/24/03)

This Book touched me.
K. (11/21/03)

I went through abuse when I was little until my mother finally left my father. For that I'm lucky that I didn't have to endure what Dave Pelzer did. He is an extremely strong individual to have been so tormented and turn out to be such a wonderful, caring person. I am quite proud to know that there are still people in the world like Dave Pelzer, it makes me feel like all hope for mankind isn't lost. If one person has the strength to overcome such a horrible background, it inspires others to do the same. I highly reccommend his books. They'll make you smile, cry, and are so riveting you cannot put them down. I only wish I could give Dave something back for the lesson his books have taught me. For now I give him my unending support and hope that he keeps living the life he loves.
Taylor Dawn Moore* (11/19/03)

omg i loved all your books there all so inspiring i have all of them i got alot of friends to read them they all liked them but mostly everyone cried how could you not cry there terifieing(?sp) well you really inspired my life and i wish that i could open up a foster home for all these little boys and girls out there that are getting abused noone deserves it but maybe when i get older im only 14 right now but thats really my goal to open up a foster care for all these boys and girls ya other people have already done that but im doing it because your books encouraged me too!
Anonymous (10/29/03)

Dave Pelzer is an inspiring man. With his long and hard journey of life, he is able to stick things out and show his audience in a marvelous way. He has a way of pulling you into his world and you find yourself wanting to read on just to see the outcome. It's a very sad way to have a childhood, but it's beautiful to continue to love life enough to keep trying. This book, along with A Child Called "It" and A Lost Boy, have helped me put my life into perspective. Thank you Dave Pelzer and God Bless to all of those who have similar stories!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.