Reader reviews and comments on How I Live Now, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

How I Live Now

by Meg Rosoff

How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff X
How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2004, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2005, 208 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 7 of 7
There are currently 54 reader reviews for How I Live Now
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Kate, 15 (06/22/05)

How I Live Now
How i live now is a powerful book with issues that people, especially teenagers are presented with today. The way Meg Rosoff wrote the relationship between the cousins Edmond and Daisy was vague in a sense but that kept if more private....[edited to remove plot spoiler]... one of my favourite books.
Josie (02/01/05)

I agree with the critics that this book is powerful and that the voice is unique, compelling, and consistent. The plot is mesmerizing and like other readers, I could not put it down. My one objection is to the absence of standard punctuation. I realize that the author wanted to present the story as people actually think and/or speak, however, given the loss of so many values and standards in our society, (such as, instead of being a nation that builds/creates quality products, we have become a nation of consumers) I fear that this style of writing will undermine one of the few things still intact, our language. Punctuation was created to enhance communication. To abandon it even in part could become a trend which publishers may come to view as "hot" and therefore salable, thus untimately weakening our abilities to communicate. Mankind did not begin with fully developed languages, but rather with sticks and stones. Think how long it took to develop our beautiful and functional English language. Can we afford to destroy it with trendy writing styles just to make a buck?
whoizzit (01/09/05)

This is one of the most powerful books I have read in a very long time. Ms. Rosoff had me on the first page and I could barely stand to put it down. It's been several days since I finished the book, and the characters are still in my head. They are just that unforgettable. This is a book I will add to my collection and recommend to EVERYONE. The writing is masterful, the story is unique, the main characters are endearing, and in the course of just a few pages the reader experiences a range of emotions from laughter to horror to sadness and back again. I look forward with great anticipation to more novels from Meg Rosoff.
Anonymous (01/05/05)

A fantastic, funny, gripping and achingly beautiful book. Daisy is a fanastic, believable character who narrates with wit and truth, and who takes us through this amazing journey with clarity.
I recommend this book to anyone, as its not something I would normally choose but I loved every second of it and only wished it could go on longer and longer!
A brilliant first book form Meg Rosoff and a great read for anyone.
Read it today!
emily (14) (12/30/04)

How I live now is a brilliant book! It gripped me instantly! I love the way that the story is retold from the perspective of Daisy herself and I love the way that all the detail put into the book pulls you further in and makes you feel almost as if you yourself are Daisy and it is you experiencing these obstacles. I almost felt as if i was under some kind of spell!
Saphir S-F (11/25/04)

This is the BEST book i've ever read i recomend it to anyone. Where i live it was a hit seller and everyone wasreading it!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.