MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Meg Rosoff biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Meg Rosoff

Meg Rosoff

Meg Rosoff Biography

Meg Rosoff was born in Boston in 1956, second of four sisters, grew up in the Boston suburbs, went to ordinary suburban schools for most of her youth, and was rejected from Princeton in 1974 and went to Harvard instead.

After three years she applied to art school in London, was accepted for a year studying sculpture, packed a bag and got on a plane. She stayed in a bed and breakfast in Knightsbridge until she found a room in a flat in Camden Town, with an architect who later became her boyfriend.

Eventually she returned to the US to finish her degree, moved to New York City, spent ten short years working in publishing and advertising, and then one day quit her job, told all her friends I was going back to London for three months, and has been there ever since.

She lives with her husband and daughter. After a fifteen-year stint in advertising her youngest sister died of breast cancer. Soon afterwards, Rosoff wrote How I Live Now, which won the Guardian Award (2004), Michael L. Printz Award (2005), and the Branford Boase Award (2005), and was shortlisted for the 2004 Whitbread Awards. Her second novel, Just In Case, won the Carnegie Medal in 2007. Rosoff's other works include Meet Wild Boars, What I Was, Jumpy Jack and Googily, Wild Boars Cook, The Bride's Farewell, Vamoose, and There Is No Dog, as well as a non-fiction book, London Guide: Your Passport to Great Travel.

Meg Rosoff's website

This bio was last updated on 07/09/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for a year or $39 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Interview

In two separate interviews Meg Rosoff discusses the inspiration for her first novel, How I Live Now and her second, Just in Case.

Q. How were you able to get into the mind of a teenage boy? How did it feel to write from a perspective so distant from your own? Justin reminded one reader of Holden Caulfield. Are there any other characters in literature to whom you think Justin compares, or who inspired your creation of Justin?

A: I think I'm something of a chameleon at heart, because I don't have any trouble getting into the brain of a teenage boy. Of course there are plenty of teenage boys I couldn't begin to understand, but Justin isn't exactly macho, or even particularly male. I've always thought of a long horizontal "gender line," with really macho male men way over on the left, and really feminine, girly girls way over on the right. And because I was always a tomboy and never thought of myself as particularly girly, I imagine myself as fairly near the center of the line. So crossing over it and writing from a male point of view isn't that hard for me. Though I don't think I could get inside Arnold Schwarzenegger's head!

I don't know about another character in literature like Justin—there's a lot of me in him, though I was never quite as loopy as he is. But I remember distinctly the feeling that I didn't ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for a year or $39 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Meg Rosoff at BookBrowse
Jonathan Unleashed jacket There Is No Dog jacket The Bride's Farewell jacket What I Was jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for a year or $39 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Meg Rosoff but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • David Almond

    David Almond

    David Almond, in his own words:

    I was born in Newcastle and I grew up in a big Catholic family in Felling-on-Tyne. I had four sisters and a brother and lots of relatives in the streets nearby. My dad had been in Burma ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    How I Live Now

    Try:
    The True Tale of the Monster Billy Dean
    by David Almond

  • Niccolò Ammaniti

    Niccolò Ammaniti

    Niccolò Ammaniti was born in Rome in 1966. He is the author of three novels, as well as a collection of short stories. At thirty-four, he was the youngest ever winner of the prestigious Viareggio-Repaci prize for I'm Not... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    What I Was

    Try:
    I'm Not Scared
    by Niccolò Ammaniti

We recommend 43 similar authors

View all 43 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for a year or $39 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book of Longings
    The Book of Longings
    by Sue Monk Kidd
    The Book of Longings by Sue Monk Kidd follows the life of Ana, a woman born in the Galilean city of ...
  • Book Jacket: Master Class
    Master Class
    by Christina Dalcher
    Christina Dalcher's Master Class shows America sleepwalking into a perfectionist eventuality not ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Pronounce Knife
    How to Pronounce Knife
    by Souvankham Thammavongsa
    Many examples of immigrant fiction dedicate a portion of their storytelling to exploring details of ...
  • Book Jacket: The Easy Part of Impossible
    The Easy Part of Impossible
    by Sarah Tomp
    Teenager Ria Williams is a skilled diver. She is on track to compete at the Olympic level, but ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Prisoner's Wife
    by Maggie Brookes

    Inspired by the true story of a courageous young woman who enters a Nazi POW camp to be with the man she loves.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Daughter of the Reich
    by Louise Fein

    A spellbinding story of impossible love set against the backdrop of the Nazi regime.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Paris Hours
by Alex George

One day in the City of Light. One night in search of lost time.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The House on Fripp Island

The House on Fripp Island
by Rebecca Kauffman

A taut, page-turning novel of secrets and strife.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

B I T T Water

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.