Reader reviews and comments on Bud, Not Buddy, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Bud, Not Buddy

by Christopher Paul Curtis

Bud, Not Buddy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 1999, 245 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2002, 245 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 6 of 7
There are currently 53 reader reviews for Bud, Not Buddy
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Maggie (01/11/04)

Its good.
Morgan (08/20/03)

I loved this book because it inspired me, as well as some of my friends, to follow our dreams! It was excitfull and sometimes the book even had me in tottal shock! This is a book that I could read over and over again, whitch I do not say a lot! Bud, Not Buddy was a heart warming story and once you read it , it will fill your heart with joy. I don't want to sound sappy but this book is truly a great experience! Ask yuorself, How could I not want to read Bud, Not buddy? Most people who have read this will agree that this is a book you have to read! Thank you for at least taking into consideration Bud, Not Buddy, whitch I think is a must read!
michelle (04/23/03)

This book was a really good read. The author captured the characters' feelings with sensitivity and humor. I reread this twice and listened to the audiobook. I hope there will be a sequel; Bud is a keeper!
Anonymous (04/08/03)

I listened to the audiobook for Bud, Not Buddy while making an eight hour drive to Arkansas in January. I teach sixth grade reading, so I was hearing it to decide whether it would be good for my students. Yes, yes, yes. I found it most engrossing and I hated to have to stop for a necessary break because the story was so interesting at that point. This author has a good point of view for my age group. I read The Watsons Go to Birmingham-1963 to my classes (both on the audiotape and individually) for the last two years. I am glad he wrote this story because I can now have an author study. I would recommend Mr. Curtis' books for their reality and honesty in portraying this particular culture and time period. My students who have claimed that most books for this age are boring asked to take them home so that they would know the plot ahead of time. An additional plus: I have had several stolen!
Danielle (01/06/03)

this book is pretty good!
Jacky Chain (12/10/02)

The best American book i read.
saumara (12/09/02)

it was alright
cathleen my sn is sheslimited2@aol.com im me (09/03/02)

bud not buddy is ok

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.