Reader reviews and comments on Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone

1st Published in UK as Harry Potter & The Philosopher's Stone

by J.K. (Joanne) Rowling

Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1998, 309 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 1999, 312 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 6 of 36
There are currently 283 reader reviews for Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Gracie (02/24/04)

THIS WAS ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS! IM DOING A REPORT ON J.K. ROWLING NOW!
Anonymous (01/22/04)

I thought the book was pretty good. I liked the details but I didn't like vauldimore. I thought he was a jerk
Text
Jeanine Rose-Marie (01/01/04)

I'm 12. This book is AWESOME! It made ME want to be a wizard! I mean, I was totally engrossed. I wish that I could play Quidditch and fly on brooms. I sometimes practice some of the spells on my little brother! I couldn't put it down! I got all of the merchandise, too. I have Harry Potter sheets, toys, everything!!! If I was compelled to buy all of those things, than wowzers! You'll probably like it, too! I'm a very tough book credic, and I rarely think that most books are worth reading. You should also check out the book The View from Saturday by E.L. Konigsburg. It's really exciting, too! Once again, Harry Potter is part of my life! That's how good the book is!
Pamela Duprey (01/01/04)

I'm Pamela Duprey. I'm 10 years old. This book is stupid. It promotes the use of wands and abnormal words. If you were to describe Harry Potter to somebody, they'd obviously think that you're cukoo. "He's an orphan wizard boy that attends Hogwarts. He's grand at Quittitch and he's good at flying on brooms. He and his friends battle evil with magic." Now, I don't know what might be going through YOU'RE mind, but it really sounds stupid. I think that the only way Harry Potter would become a good book was if they eliminated Harry, his friends, Hogwarts, Harry's family, and everything dealing with magic. Then this book would be upgraded from a large waste of paper to a book dealing with the dirt cycle. I'd rather be watching grass grow than reading Harry Potter.


Oh yes, and in one of the posts it said it was literary filth. I couldn't agree more.
No Angel (12/26/03)

As the book that started it all, how can I not love it?!
Cindy Miller (12/03/03)

This book was awesome a real page turner. It keeps you guessing and fills your head with imagination. the thing i really liked about this book was the fact that there are so many exciting things harry gets to go through. J K rowling is a pure genius!
Ivan rodriguez (11/26/03)

On this book Harry discover he his a wizard, but his uncle, an aunt didn’t want Harry to know that he his a wizard they wanted to squish the magic out of him, until one day Hagrit told Harry that he was a wizard . What Harry didn’t know was that he was going to face the wizards that kill his parents and he will save the sorceress stone the only thing that will bring Voldemort to life. Tanks to his enemy Harry form part of the team of the school a sport, were they fly with brooms.
Abdullah Mahbub (10/28/03)

I moved to America from germany in the year of 2000. I could not speak a word of english and I hated books. But that ended soon, once I started reading Harry Potter I bot good grades in my english classes and I stoped watching a lot of TV.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.