Reader reviews and comments on Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone

1st Published in UK as Harry Potter & The Philosopher's Stone

by J.K. (Joanne) Rowling

Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. (Joanne) Rowling X
Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. (Joanne) Rowling
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1998, 309 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 1999, 312 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 6 of 36
There are currently 283 reader reviews for Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Gracie (02/24/04)

THIS WAS ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS! IM DOING A REPORT ON J.K. ROWLING NOW!
Anonymous (01/22/04)

I thought the book was pretty good. I liked the details but I didn't like vauldimore. I thought he was a jerk
Text
Jeanine Rose-Marie (01/01/04)

I'm 12. This book is AWESOME! It made ME want to be a wizard! I mean, I was totally engrossed. I wish that I could play Quidditch and fly on brooms. I sometimes practice some of the spells on my little brother! I couldn't put it down! I got all of the merchandise, too. I have Harry Potter sheets, toys, everything!!! If I was compelled to buy all of those things, than wowzers! You'll probably like it, too! I'm a very tough book credic, and I rarely think that most books are worth reading. You should also check out the book The View from Saturday by E.L. Konigsburg. It's really exciting, too! Once again, Harry Potter is part of my life! That's how good the book is!
Pamela Duprey (01/01/04)

I'm Pamela Duprey. I'm 10 years old. This book is stupid. It promotes the use of wands and abnormal words. If you were to describe Harry Potter to somebody, they'd obviously think that you're cukoo. "He's an orphan wizard boy that attends Hogwarts. He's grand at Quittitch and he's good at flying on brooms. He and his friends battle evil with magic." Now, I don't know what might be going through YOU'RE mind, but it really sounds stupid. I think that the only way Harry Potter would become a good book was if they eliminated Harry, his friends, Hogwarts, Harry's family, and everything dealing with magic. Then this book would be upgraded from a large waste of paper to a book dealing with the dirt cycle. I'd rather be watching grass grow than reading Harry Potter.


Oh yes, and in one of the posts it said it was literary filth. I couldn't agree more.
No Angel (12/26/03)

As the book that started it all, how can I not love it?!
Cindy Miller (12/03/03)

This book was awesome a real page turner. It keeps you guessing and fills your head with imagination. the thing i really liked about this book was the fact that there are so many exciting things harry gets to go through. J K rowling is a pure genius!
Ivan rodriguez (11/26/03)

On this book Harry discover he his a wizard, but his uncle, an aunt didn’t want Harry to know that he his a wizard they wanted to squish the magic out of him, until one day Hagrit told Harry that he was a wizard . What Harry didn’t know was that he was going to face the wizards that kill his parents and he will save the sorceress stone the only thing that will bring Voldemort to life. Tanks to his enemy Harry form part of the team of the school a sport, were they fly with brooms.
Abdullah Mahbub (10/28/03)

I moved to America from germany in the year of 2000. I could not speak a word of english and I hated books. But that ended soon, once I started reading Harry Potter I bot good grades in my english classes and I stoped watching a lot of TV.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.