Reader reviews and comments on Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone

1st Published in UK as Harry Potter & The Philosopher's Stone

by J.K. (Joanne) Rowling

Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1998, 309 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 1999, 312 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 7 of 36
There are currently 283 reader reviews for Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

andrew b (10/16/03)

nice i think its the best
amy (10/15/03)

i think that this book is great for all children and adults. i love it.
Paul (10/03/03)

Excellent!!! Excellent!!!
Jono (09/07/03)

This book is great! I have read it about 17 times, for real it can't be missed.
... (08/27/03)

I don't think the book is very good because, well, the characters are boring. Everyone that is good has pratically the same qualities: kindness, friendship, etc. and the bad people are always the same. They are the same people, just with different names. Nothing really changes at all in the characters, aka character development, ahem. There is really no different plot, either: all the books have the same thing, the Voldemort and the stuff. The books are going to go on until someone finally has the guts to kill Voldemort. I mean, he meets up with him five times, and doesn't do anything? Help us...

Anyway, everyone is fantasising over nothing. I don't get why this book is so great. Rowling pratically copied someone's idea...that's not great, people. In my school some 2nd grader read all the HP books and got all these points for reading (AR, you read a book, depending on how many questions you get right, you get points), but is reading HP going to do you any good? Yeah, entertainment...but if you were reading HP and then decided "OH! I want to write something like this..." there's really no more imagination left.

SIGNING OFF!
nihiljose (07/19/03)

it is the best i have read in a long time.
Aliza (07/01/03)

It's a fantastic book. I just totally love it. I rate it 5 out of 5.
shaylce (06/20/03)

thtis book is great but not good for younger kids.i know my friend sister was like toattly freaked out.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.