Reader reviews and comments on Hoot, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Hoot by Carl Hiaasen
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2002, 229 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2004, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 8
There are currently 61 reader reviews for Hoot
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Laney (08/10/07)

Slow
This book was slow going for so many parts only a few times did I actually get real interested but over all I'm glad my teacher assigned this book.
taly (06/17/07)

Hoot
I loved the book. My favorite character is Beatrice because she was caring, loving,kind and very helpful. She was also very clever.
tabria (03/14/07)

what i like
The book Hoot was great. I really enjoyed reading it. I enjoyed reading it so much that I got my whole class to read it. It was amazing what things Mullet Fingers did to save those poor little owls. Like put alligators in the porta-potties, take the seat off of the back hoe,put snakes on the steps,and so much more. And when they finally stopped Chuck Muckle. It was so funny.
Andy (02/06/07)

hoot
its a great book some parts are cheesy but others are not.. I'm doing it for a project.Its a GOOD! book but the book can go on and on!
da bom (11/08/06)

hoot
Excellent! Superb! One of the best books I have ever read, although there were disgusting and cheesy parts. Truly a work of mind.
Alli (10/30/06)

Fun!
I loved this book! I could barely put it down! The ending, where they all hold hands... a little cheesy, but you can tell that Hiaasen is trying to prove a point, ( standing up for what you believe in), I felt myself grasping onto Mulletfinger's life, and I really felt for him. Overall, it was good, and I wish Carl would make more books styled like this.
Jessie (10/20/06)

Hoot
I can't believe how amaxing this story was. It made me think about how somewhere out there is a kid who ran away. I love the way Carl used the wonderful similies during some of the best parts. You can really hear the voices of the characters pop out at you when you read each sentence. I think Carl did an excellent job and that this was one of his best novels yet.
DMS (10/10/06)

Hoot By Carl Hiaasen
This book was a pleasure to read.
I suggest that you should read this book because it is realistic and clearly detailed.

I also came here for help on a book report. The reviews are exceptional except it does not give a clear understanding to help students with book reports. I suggest that a helpful guide will be great. Thank you and bye.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.