Reader reviews and comments on In My Hands, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In My Hands

Memories of a Holocaust Rescuer

by Irene Gut Opdyke

In My Hands by Irene Gut Opdyke X
In My Hands by Irene Gut Opdyke
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 1999, 276 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2001, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 6
There are currently 43 reader reviews for In My Hands
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Jacob , 56 (11/07/04)

It was ok
JAK (10/18/04)

This book was simply amazing. I knew alot about the Holocaust because I am 1/2 Jewish and my ancestors immigrated to several countries before finally choosing America. Even though I had plentiful backround knowledge, it was so much better to dive in and take the sacrifices and punishments as well as the satisfaction of knowing that she successully made it through. I recommend this book to people who have high reading levels and a mature concept of life because some of the content is sexual, so it is necassary to take these factors into consideration. (I am in 8th grade, but I enjoyed it) I hope this book opens up a new world of concepts, questions and knowledge for you as it did for me. In the end, I hope that you will keep this book in your own hands.
Chelsea (08/08/04)

Im mostly polish and reading this book really taght me alot. I never knew that the poles had it so hard. This isan excellent book, and I highly recamend it for teens. It will teah you that war is never the answer, but as much bad comes out of it, much good could come from it too. This book teaches that.
kayleigh (03/22/04)

i have to read this book for litureature circles and my group and me think that this is an interesting book and we like it alot so far we are still reading it and we cant wait untill the end because we want to know how everything works out.
Sara Lily (03/09/04)

I Loved this book. I read it for my History project and got sucked in right away. I was surprised at how good it was. I never thought i'd like a historical book so much!
jess (02/26/04)

i had to read the book for an english project and it turned out to be awsome. you never know what you can do untill you try.
Kandice (12/15/03)

This book was awesome! I've read a lot of books about the holocaust and this is by far one of the best. I loved it!
Jennifer (12/02/03)

It was so amazing what this woman along with others went through, and how she sacraficed even things her religion did not allow, but knowing God was with her she held through it and lived for him and saved many peoples lives in the process!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.