Reader reviews and comments on In My Hands, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In My Hands

Memories of a Holocaust Rescuer

by Irene Gut Opdyke

In My Hands
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 1999, 276 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2001, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 6
There are currently 43 reader reviews for In My Hands
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Jacob , 56 (11/07/04)

It was ok
JAK (10/18/04)

This book was simply amazing. I knew alot about the Holocaust because I am 1/2 Jewish and my ancestors immigrated to several countries before finally choosing America. Even though I had plentiful backround knowledge, it was so much better to dive in and take the sacrifices and punishments as well as the satisfaction of knowing that she successully made it through. I recommend this book to people who have high reading levels and a mature concept of life because some of the content is sexual, so it is necassary to take these factors into consideration. (I am in 8th grade, but I enjoyed it) I hope this book opens up a new world of concepts, questions and knowledge for you as it did for me. In the end, I hope that you will keep this book in your own hands.
Chelsea (08/08/04)

Im mostly polish and reading this book really taght me alot. I never knew that the poles had it so hard. This isan excellent book, and I highly recamend it for teens. It will teah you that war is never the answer, but as much bad comes out of it, much good could come from it too. This book teaches that.
kayleigh (03/22/04)

i have to read this book for litureature circles and my group and me think that this is an interesting book and we like it alot so far we are still reading it and we cant wait untill the end because we want to know how everything works out.
Sara Lily (03/09/04)

I Loved this book. I read it for my History project and got sucked in right away. I was surprised at how good it was. I never thought i'd like a historical book so much!
jess (02/26/04)

i had to read the book for an english project and it turned out to be awsome. you never know what you can do untill you try.
Kandice (12/15/03)

This book was awesome! I've read a lot of books about the holocaust and this is by far one of the best. I loved it!
Jennifer (12/02/03)

It was so amazing what this woman along with others went through, and how she sacraficed even things her religion did not allow, but knowing God was with her she held through it and lived for him and saved many peoples lives in the process!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.