Reader reviews and comments on In My Hands, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In My Hands

Memories of a Holocaust Rescuer

by Irene Gut Opdyke

In My Hands by Irene Gut Opdyke X
In My Hands by Irene Gut Opdyke
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 1999, 276 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2001, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 6
There are currently 43 reader reviews for In My Hands
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

no name (11/26/03)

this book was so interesting and true. I loved it it makes you think about those times.
Gabriel Shalom (10/07/03)

i hate reading but reading this book was the amazing. this book was the best book i ever read in my life. i am only 14 years old and i loved this book. i recomend this book to anyone who can read english.
Amanda Barnes (08/08/03)

I really liked this book. I first learnt about the holocaust a few years ago, however reading about from a real life story makes it more of an impact. i think irene deserves all the praise and awards she receives, she has been through alot in a life and is an inspiration to all.
Tiffany (05/20/03)

I chose this book to read for my Honors English class and I ended up really liking and enjoying the book. The story is just absolutely captivating and amazing.
Amy Foster (05/19/03)

I am not here to review the book. I knew Irene because she came to my 7th grade classroom and spoke about the holocaust. I then re-met Irene because years later I recognized her at the grocery store that I work at. I have been there 13 years and she has been shopping there for a long time. This whole tine we have lived in the same city,"Yorba Linda". I have grown to love her. She is such a sweet lady. Then this friday, May 16th Irene past away. Her neighbor had told me today. Before she past she had said,"I am going home". She is such a mentor and such a brave woman. I feel so honored to have known her. I just wanted to let everyone know because she deserves it..
Amy (the grocery store checker who will miss Irene)
Roya (05/14/03)

this book, In My Hands is my favorite book in the world. i love to read about the holoaust and usually i like to read about the camps but i have read this 3 times and every time i read it i love it even more and more!
Elyse (05/12/03)

This book is an amazing story of how the lives of so many innocent people can be destroyed so easily. I am extremely proud of what a determined woman Ms. Opdyke is. Thank you for sharing your amazing story with us all.
Rochelle (04/28/03)

This book was the best! I wuld recomend it anyday.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.