Reader reviews and comments on The Color of Water, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Color of Water

by James McBride

The Color of Water
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 1996, 228 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 1997, 228 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 5 of 13
There are currently 97 reader reviews for The Color of Water
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Daun (03/02/04)

Being of a biracial family, this book helps to explain the reasons my grandmother, aunts, and uncles do some of the things that they do. My grandmother is white and raised five black children. After reading the book, I appreciate her stuggle and the struggle of many others like her even more. Even if you are not biracial, this book will make you think and appreciate lots of things.
Carolynn (02/19/04)

Im 18 years old and I was first introduced to this book in my senior year in high school. I really enjoyed it, I first had to read it for school but now I'm reading on my own. I have also recomended it to alot of people hoping that they will have the same liking that I have for the book. This book is truly inspirational to everone who is of mixed races, a must read for everyone! Highly Recomended.
Greg (02/05/04)

This book is a must read. It is the type of touching story you can realte to regardless of race. When you finish it you'll want to call your mother and thank her for being who she is.
Jestine (11/29/03)

Excellent wonderful, marvelous, great, interesting book to read. When reading this book you have to focus alot. If you don't you won't understand it.
priyanka (10/23/03)

This Book is great.
i love i dont know anybody who didnt like it.
James Mcbride is a great writter.
Superstar a.ka. janel NIU student (10/22/03)

This book was every interesting. After coming along reading, it all became to make since. The different writings in, "The Color of Water"
book is illistrating the different voices of Ruth and James. The way that I read the book to understand it was by reading all of James version. Then I read Ruthie's part of her life. This book makes you think about two things at one time. I would recommend this book to a friend and tell thm about it; that is if they don't understand.
NHL (09/03/03)

THIS IS A REALLY GOOD BOOK. I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIND ANYONE THAT DID NOT LIKE AT LEAST ONE THING ABOUT THIS BOOK. I WAS INTERESTED AND LIKED HOW HE TIED THE TWO BOOKS TOGETHER.
Yanelle (08/24/03)

This is such a wonderful book! I loved it, and although it can get a little slow, the book moves along pretty well. If you are thinking about reading it, I definately say you should.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.