Reader reviews and comments on The Color of Water, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Color of Water

by James McBride

The Color of Water by James McBride X
The Color of Water by James McBride
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 1996, 228 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 1997, 228 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 8 of 13
There are currently 97 reader reviews for The Color of Water
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

shady (10/28/02)

it was a great book that talked a lot about human nature
Amanda (10/17/02)

I thought the book was incredible. It opened my eyes to a whole new world. Ruth is an outstanding woman and mother. She is a role model to all those who suffer through racism and abuse.
Steven (10/16/02)

THIS BOOK SUCKED they kept talkin and talkin and there are tons of movies that the same its a typical story.
Izzo fa shezzo my nezzo (10/15/02)

this is the poorest book i have ever read!!!

"McBride, if u ever write a book again, mann i would never read it thats all i have to say
Quique El Loco (10/09/02)

This is an amazing book. I loved every page, every word, from the front cover to the back cover. Im not the type of person who you can say "reads for fun" I read this book in class, I finisged it in three days. Thats how great it is. Now im getting more and more into reading for fun.

ITS BOOKS LIKE THESE THAT MAKE PEOPLE REALLY READ FOR FUN!!!
Debbie Sealey (09/24/02)

It is the most extraordinary book that I have read for a while it took me the whole
of 2 days to read and I had to read it again. Could not put it down.

Keep up the good writing

Best Wishes
Debbie
akilah (09/19/02)

The book was a good story. I liked how he made the tribute to his mother,and shared her story.
jamal (09/12/02)

You should read this book why ?
Find out when you read!!!!!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.