Reader reviews and comments on The Color of Water, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Color of Water

by James McBride

The Color of Water by James McBride
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 1996, 228 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 1997, 228 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 9 of 13
There are currently 97 reader reviews for The Color of Water
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Lonnie Norwood, Jr. (09/01/02)

This book was excellent and phenominally written for all age groups to appreciate. The reader is taught that success comes from determination from deep within. We are able to succeed with a little faith... irrespective of color, race, religion or creed.
Anonymous (08/25/02)

The Color of Water was truely amazing! It was a centimental book that reaches out and touches many different age groups. The Color of Water is a must read!
migs (08/24/02)

i dont read many books but once i got a couple chapters in i couldnt put it down. its just a life story that you feel proud to be reading about becuse of all the diveristy both the mother and the son had gone through in their lives and still were able to come out on top.
s.b. (07/30/02)

I think this book really touches the reader. You see how crutial the relationship between the white mother and the black son really is. I think James is an excellent author and that people of all ages should read this book!
Anonymous (07/09/02)

I think that this book was written beautifully by James McBride. I had to read this book for a Honors English assignment and I thought that it wouldn't be an enjoyable book. But it is. I never seemed to get bored of it. I wanted to know more after each chapter. This book dealt with issues of race and identity and true courage. I would definietly recommend this book to who ever wishes to read a fantastic book. Enjoy!
Anonymous (06/25/02)

this book is really cool! we have to read it for a summer reading project and i love the way it switches back and forth between the author's life and his mother's. it makes it very interesting to read!!
michelle q (06/09/02)

this book is great.it shows the problems of society w/interaciality and it shows the strength to overcome.i loved the book and think the author and his mother are great people!
Tasha D (06/03/02)

I think that this is a very good book, and people of all ages should read it.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Graybar Hotel
    The Graybar Hotel
    by Curtis Dawkins
    We – those of us on the outside – are lucky. So very lucky. We get to experience life &#...
  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.