Reader reviews and comments on Into Thin Air, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Into Thin Air

A Personal Account of the Mount Everest Disaster

by Jon Krakauer

Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer X
Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 1997, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    May 1998, 378 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 5
There are currently 36 reader reviews for Into Thin Air
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Carrie (11/29/04)

Absolutely amazing adventure story!! I could not bear to put it down until I finished!
simon white (11/15/04)

Although I am not involved in climbing/mountaineering I was absolutely glued to this book (twice). It allows you to have an insight into the world of the mountain, where different rules apply.
I found this book contained all the correct ingredients to keep any curious mind occupied, I would certainly reccommend it to anyone.
Give it a go!
Michelle (10/31/04)

Allows the reader to accompany the Adventure Consultant expedition in the comfort of their own home.
Brenda Rempel (10/24/04)

I felt that the book was good but Jon had the tendancy to get off topic and drag the book on.
Eliza (08/03/04)

Incredible story. About faith, bravery, peolpe and... Sagarmatha ...
Charity (11/20/03)

This book is one of the best I have every read. It captured me and I couldn't put it down until I finished, even then I re-read is 2 more times. I would recommend to anyone.
Allen Meece (11/17/03)

Climbing Mount Everest is hard. Getting back down is harder.
I read the book 3 or 4 times, it was so good. Jon loves mountaineering and delivers just enough technical info to provide an education as well as entertainment. The undercurrent of fear of the majestic mountain deified the peak and gave the book a mystical quality of doom that was magnificent. Jon was thankfully honest about the causes of the 1996 disaster so that I felt I got my money's worth and really learned something. He took some heat from those who proved unworthy of the mountain and I support him for withstanding the attacks from those who couldn't admit their shortcomings.
Anonymous (10/09/03)

The book was great! It's well worth the read.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.