Reader reviews and comments on Dragon Rider, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Dragon Rider

by Cornelia Funke

Dragon Rider
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2004, 528 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2005, 528 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 7 of 7
There are currently 56 reader reviews for Dragon Rider
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

sjcurby (12/03/04)

I thought it was awsome at the end
Xinyu Luo (12/01/04)

This was a spectacular book! Firedrake, a silver dragon and his companion Sorrel, a Spotted Forest Brownie, learns that their precious valley is about to be attacked by humans, the set of on a hopeless adventure to find the mystical Rim of Heaven. A boy named Ben hitches along on the adventure and becomes a trusted friend and a navigator, but evil lurks at every water source. Nettlebrand, the Golden One is a golden dragon who enjoyed hunting and eating silver dragons, but he thought that they had been extinct 150 years ago when he couldn't track any more, but when Firedrake lands at his door step, he sends spies to track them down. After alot of help, and united allies, a risky plan makes an end of the book.


William (11/29/04)

Hmmm...
I think this was a fantastic book, not just because of the wonderful story, but the author's rich words. I read it when I was 10, and liked it right away. I have a thing for dragons, and this one is the best yet! (besides Eragon) I think it is also great because I read it to my little brother, and also like it as much as I do. You have to read this book too! :p
larny parny (11/28/04)

I really enjoyed reading about Firedrake etc. Burr-Burr-Chan is a very weird name! I enjoyed reading it and was surprised when they <<edited for potential plot spoiler content>>. Burr-Burr-Chan - what a name!

Oh, yes - a remarkable book!

Jolly remarkable indeed!
Xinyu Luo (11/27/04)

This was a spectacular book! Firedrake, a silver dragon and his companion Sorrel, a Spotted Forest Brownie, learns that their precious valley is about to be attacked by humans, the set of on a hopeless adventure to find the mystical Rim of Heaven. A boy named Ben hitches along on the adventure and becomes a trusted friend and a navigator, but evil lurks at every water source. Nettlebrand, the Golden One is a golden dragon who enjoyed hunting and eating silver dragons, but he thought that they had been extinct 150 years ago when he couldn't track any more, but when Firedrake lands at his door step, he sends spies to track them down. After alot of help, and united allies, a risky plan makes an end of the book.
HImmmmm (11/26/04)

That was one good book...........
Jackie (11/22/04)

It was alright, it was kinda stupid and probally for younger childern (about 8-12)
Nicole (11/19/04)

This book enchanted me not just because of its fast-pace plot, but because it offers a different perspective from what we tend to think of dragons today. I am 14 years old, and although it was a very easy read, I recommend it to teens as well as kids. It'll definetly test how well you know your folklore!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: My Name Is Leon
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.