• Top Picks

    Review

    The Book Woman's Daughter

    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of Cussy Mary, the blue-skinned packhorse librarian introduced in the 2019 bestseller The Book Woman of ...

    Read Review

    Beyond the Book

    Moonlight Schools

    At one point in Kim Michele Richardson's novel The Book Woman's Daughter, protagonist Honey Lovett discovers that a family friend attended a Moonlight School. The Moonlight Schools were the ...

    Read Article
  • Top Picks

    Review

    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting

    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after putting down any book: Everyone has an unknown story. Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting by Clare Pooley...

    Read Review

    Beyond the Book

    Generation Gaps in the Workplace

    Walk into any office and you'll likely find a mix of people at different points of their lives: Baby boomers, Generation Xers, millennials. And the presence of Generation Z continues to grow. ...

    Read Article
  • Top Picks

    Review

    We Had to Remove This Post

    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly translated novel from acclaimed Dutch author Hanna Bervoets, is saddled with credit card debt, ...

    Read Review

    Beyond the Book

    Content Moderators' Lawsuit Against Facebook (2018)

    We Had to Remove This Post by Hanna Bervoets centers on a group of content moderators for a large social media site, who are technically contract workers employed by a smaller, third-party company...

    Read Article
  • Top Picks

    Review

    River of the Gods

    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and transportation for numerous peoples. The river's richness allowed for the development and flourishing ...

    Read Review

    Beyond the Book

    Sidi Mubarak Bombay

    Candice Millard's River of the Gods recounts the harrowing expeditions of Richard Burton and John Speke, two British explorers sent to find the source of the Nile River. Burton's name was well known ...

    Read Article
  • Top Picks

    Review

    Horse

    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, weaving a rich tapestry of historical and current-day narratives that aptly reflect how the legacy of ...

    Read Review

    Beyond the Book

    Black Jockeys: The Foundation of American Horse Racing

    On its face, the end of the Civil War should have marked a time in which African Americans would be afforded freedom. But the end of slavery did not mean the end of Black oppression. Many white ...

    Read Article
  • Top Picks

    Review

    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance

    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate through the losses you have. With remarkable accuracy, Alison Espach writes about grief through the...

    Read Review

    Beyond the Book

    Bonding Over Shared Trauma

    In Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance by Alison Espach, main characters Sally and Billy form an unbreakable bond after they both witness the death of Sally's older sister Kathy, who is Billy's ...

    Read Article

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find Out More

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard

    Master storyteller Louis Bayard delivers a surprising portrait of a young Jackie Kennedy as we've never seen her before.

    Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

    Reviews

An Introduction to BookBrowse

New In Paperback

  • Book Jacket: Never
  • Book Jacket: Beautiful World, Where Are You
  • Book Jacket: Afterparties
  • Book Jacket: Big Vape
  • Book Jacket: Secrets of Happiness
  • Book Jacket: The Other Black Girl
  • Book Jacket: The Personal Librarian
  • Book Jacket: Love and Fury
  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman's Daughter

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.