MLA Platinum Award Press Release
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: This Is Happiness

    This Is Happiness
    by Niall Williams

    BookBrowse Review
    Niall Williams's This Is Happiness offers an extraordinary portrait of a particular moment in the history of one small corner of Ireland. The novel begins in the late 1950s, ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Norah Piehl
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: The Electrification of Rural Ireland

    The personal events of Niall Williams's This Is Happiness are sparked by the impending arrival of electricity to Faha, a tiny hamlet in rural Ireland. The gradual electrification of this largely rural country was a decades-long process that extended ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: In the Dream House

    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado

    BookBrowse Review
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for her collection of short stories Her Body and Other Parties) tells us she is...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Lisa Butts
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: The Murder of Freda Ward

    In Carmen Maria Machado's memoir In the Dream House, she writes of her abusive relationship with another woman and the lack of scholarship and cultural representations available on the subject of abuse in queer relationships in general. Having ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Father of Lions

    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    BookBrowse Review
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 rated the book 4 or 5 stars.

    As many readers point out, Father of Lions ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Mosul Before, During and After ISIS Occupation

    Mosul, Iraq's second-largest city after Baghdad, lies on the banks of the Tigris River. Mosul's current boundaries encompass the remains of the old Assyrian city of Nineveh, and signs of civilization in the area date back as far as 8,000 years ago. ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: American Dirt

    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    BookBrowse Review
    Jeanine Cummins' American Dirt hasn't just been positively reviewed by BookBrowse First Impressions readers—it's become our highest-rated book of all time! 33 out of 33 ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: A History of Acapulco and Ongoing Cartel Control

    Acapulco de Juárez, commonly known as Acapulco, is a city located on the coast of Mexico in the southwestern state of Guerrero. The name 'Acapulco' is believed to come from a word in the Náhuatl (Aztec) language meaning 'place of ... Beyond the Book

This Week's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: When Death Becomes Life
  • Book Jacket: The Sacrament
  • Book Jacket: Daughter of Moloka'i
  • Book Jacket: Deep Creek
  • Book Jacket: Between Two Fires
  • Book Jacket: The Inflamed Mind
  • Book Jacket: The Parisian
  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
  • Book Jacket: A Bookshop in Berlin
  • Book Jacket: This Is Happiness
  • Book Jacket: Solitary
  • Book Jacket: Ghost Wall
  • Book Jacket: American Dirt
  • Book Jacket: The Lost Man
  • Book Jacket: Followers
  • Book Jacket: The Wrong Heaven

Find a book

Find Your Next Great Read!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Members read and review books before they're published. See what they'll be reviewing soon.

  • BookBrowse Book Club
    Book Jacket

    Today We Go Home
    by Kelli Estes

    Illuminating and deeply human, Today We Go Home shines a light on the brave military women of the past and present.

    Join the discussion!

More Discussions

  1.  263The Lost Man:
    Jane Harper
  2.  299Evening in Paradise:
    Lucia Berlin
  3.  304The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek:
    Kim Michele Richardson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Book Club Recommendations
  • Sugar Run Book Jacket
    Sugar Run
    by Mesha Maren

    Set within the charged insularity of rural West Virginia, Sugar Run is a searing and ...

    Book Reviewed by
    Lisa Butts

  • The Falconer Book Jacket
    The Falconer
    by Dana Czapnik

    Told in vibrant, quicksilver prose, The Falconer is a coming-of-age story, providing a ...

    Book Reviewed by
    Lisa Butts

  • A Spark of Light Book Jacket
    A Spark of Light
    by Jodi Picoult

    A powerful and provocative new novel about ordinary lives that intersect during a heart-...

    Book Reviewed by
    Karen Lewis

Featured Book Club

featured bookclub

Recent Reader Reviews
  • If the Creek Don't Rise
    by Leah Weiss

    “If the creek don't rise," debut novel by Leah Weiss, is a treasure. Set in an environment of extremes-wretched poverty amidst the majesty of the NC mountains, its ...
    read more

  • Olive, Again
    by Elizabeth Strout

    As with the first book, Olive Kitteridge, this is the story of a singular woman living her brief life on the coast of Maine, creating wreckage with her acerbic tongue and...
    read more

  • The Starless Sea
    by Erin Morgenstern

    I loved this book just as I loved THE NIGHT CIRCUS. Two different reads but Erin Morgenstern is a wonderful writer. THE STARLESS SEA is a book you need to read daily or...
    read more

  • Inland
    by Téa Obreht

    I am not surprised to see that this strange and wondrous novel has generated a wide range of opinions, that it is found by some to be opaque or even pointless. As with ...
    read more

  • News of the World
    by Paulette Jiles

    Captain Kidd had experience traveling uncharted lands as he read his newspapers in different towns to spread the news of the world, but traveling with a ten-year-old girl...
    read more

  • Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    This book is much more than a book about a zookeeper and his animals. Callaghan writes of the occupation of Mosul by Daesh, the new laws invoked that make daily life very...
    read more

Give a BookBrowse Membership

A BookBrowse Membership is the ideal gift for your book loving friends and family.

Give a Gift Membership

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.