• Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Brass

    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu

    BookBrowse Review
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie Kuzavinas explains that the industry "hauled ass out of town" a few decades ago. ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Rebecca Foster
    Read Review

    Albanian Communism

    Bashkim Hasani, who is Elsie's boyfriend and Luljeta's father in Xhenet Aliu's novel Brass, was born in an Albanian work camp, one of many which were set up under Communist rule. The Albanian Communist Party was founded in 1941 with the help of ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Timekeepers

    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield

    BookBrowse Review
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade's Never as Good as the First Time. Two hours and 19 minutes gets you ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Rory L. Aronsky
    Read Review

    Tidbits from Timekeepers

    Simon Garfield's Timekeepers, is a book about our obsession with time. It is chock filled with the ways our lives revolve around it, the instruments we use to manage it, and some people's odd perspectives on it. Here are five quirky, fun facts from ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: How to Stop Time

    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig

    BookBrowse Review
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality that causes him to age preternaturally slowly. Consequently he is 439 years ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Lisa Butts
    Read Review

    Witch Trials in Elizabethan and Jacobean England

    In 1599, the early days of Tom Hazard's long life, his quasi-immortality results in a charge of witchcraft leveled against both himself and his mother, and he is forced to witness the harrowing ordeal of her trial. The belief in witchcraft was common... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta

    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies

    BookBrowse Review
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women are born mothers. Some achieve motherhood. Others have motherhood thrust ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
    Read Review

    Spartan Mothers

    In Mothers of Sparta, author Dawn Davies compares herself and her decisions about her son to those made by mothers in Ancient Sparta. Sparta was a city-state in Greece that reached its pinnacle in the 5th century BCE. Its name, now and then, ... Beyond the Book

This Week's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
  • Book Jacket: Down the River unto the Sea
  • Book Jacket: Strangers in Their Own Land
  • Book Jacket: Sadness Is a White Bird
  • Book Jacket: The Book of Joan
  • Book Jacket: Edgar and Lucy
  • Book Jacket: The Dark Flood Rises
  • Book Jacket: An American Marriage
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
  • Book Jacket: Force of Nature
  • Book Jacket: Next Year in Havana
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
  • Book Jacket: History Is All You Left Me
  • Book Jacket: The Monk of Mokha
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
  • Book Jacket: The Music Shop
  • Book Jacket: A State of Freedom
  • Book Jacket: Fortress America

Find a book

Find Your Next Great Read!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Members read and review books before they're published. See what they'll be reviewing soon.

  • Discuss this book
    Book Jacket

    The Women in the Castle

    Three women, haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

    Join the discussion!

More Discussions

  1.  310Ginny Moon:
    Benjamin Ludwig
  2.  283History of Wolves:
    Emily Fridlund
  3.  231A Piece of the World:
    Christina Baker Kline

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Book Club Recommendations
Featured Book Club

featured bookclub

Recent Reader Reviews
  • The Great Alone
    by Kristin Hannah

    I read this book in one setting. I couldn't put it down. The characters just captured me and kept me enthralled. I visited Alaska in the 70's and the descriptions of the ...
    read more

  • Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    Only Child is amazing! Once I started reading it I was unable to put it down. The writing flows and the characters are well-developed .It is intense, heartbreaking and ...
    read more

  • The Women in the Castle
    by Jessica Shattuck

    'Commander of wives and children" is the title given to Marianne when she makes a promise to her husband and other German conspirators that plan to assassinate ...
    read more

  • The Women in the Castle
    by Jessica Shattuck

    I loved this book. It is the story of three widows whose lives become intertwined during WWII in Germany. They are brought together as a result of the failed resistance ...
    read more

  • The Walking Dead
    by Gerald Seymour

    Gerald Seymour sure knows how to cook up a tale but this gooey confection may be over-egged for even the hungriest of his fans, your reviewer included. A suicide bomber ...
    read more

  • Ginny Moon
    by Benjamin Ludwig

    I wasn't prepared to like this book or the main character. I thought it was going to be a very different type of book. The author brings the reader into Ginny's world ...
    read more

Give a BookBrowse Membership

A BookBrowse Membership is the ideal gift for your book loving friends and family.

Give a Gift Membership

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.