Excerpt from Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cover The Butter

by Carrie Kabak

Cover The Butter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2005, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2006, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


My tummy does a somersault.

"Your hair would look better loose," he says. He smells of cigarette smoke and Aramis aftershave. A little parenthesis appears on one side of his mouth when he smiles. Must remember every detail for Moira.

"I always wear my hair like this," I reply. We're nearly at the top of the hill and I know he lives in the fourth brick house on the right, the one with the little iron gate. As I'm swinging my long braid to the left, to the right, because he might think it's cute, my beret flies off, and he swoops to pick it up and reads the name tag inside. His ears stick out a bit. Short fingernails. Tight purple shirt. A peep of chest hair.

"Kate Cadogan, LV2."

"Lower fifth, class two."

"You're only fourteen, then."

"So?"

I won't be fourteen till October the seventh, actually, but he doesn't have to know that.

"I was seventeen last week," he tells me.

Wow! A whole seventeen! Birth sign, Virgo.

"See you on Monday," he says, opening his gate.

See you on Monday. I do a who-cares shrug, take my beret back, flatten it onto my head, and turn away without a second look. I try to saunter off, but I can't because the girdle has slipped way down now, so I end up walking like a goose instead. I hope to hell he's not watching.



I turn the key in the latch of number 33 Cherry Blossom Road. No sign of Biddy, but I do hear a rattle of cutlery in the kitchen, so she is home.

The TV is on in the living room, and the Rolling Stones are on Top of the Pops, singing about telephones.

Ha! And our phone rings. I join in with Mick Jagger and sing down the receiver, because it just has to be Moira.

"Cute."

Breathe slowly, Kate. It's Barry. Don't pass out now.

"I found your number in the directory, Kate Cadogan."

"So you did, Barry Finch."

"How do you know my name?" he asks.

The whole of LV2 knows his name.

"Sheila Colby told me. You're friends with her brother, aren't you?" And Sheila Colby fancies him like nothing else, but he phoned me! And he's seventeen.

Hearing the soft pad of footsteps on the carpet, I swing around to see Biddy walking toward me. Her arms are folded.

"Got to go," I tell Barry. I put the receiver down, praying he won't think I hung up on him, praying Biddy won't ask who I was talking to.

Biddy says there'll be plenty of time for boys when I go to college, when I'm eighteen. Girls grow up too soon these days, she says, wearing short skirts and showing their knickers. No wonder they end up in trouble.

My mother taps her foot. "Who were you speaking to, Kate?"

"Moira," I say, fidgeting with a strand of hair.

I see Biddy has new shoes, burgundy, with sharp stiletto heels. They look kind of funny with her green hospital dress and starched apron. She must have been trying them on. That's another pair to add to the hundred and twenty-five she already has.

"Make sure you get your homework done tonight. Don't leave it till last minute on Sunday," she says. "You were talking to a boy, weren't you?"

Reprinted from Cover the Butter by Carrie Kabak, pages 1-13, with permission from Dutton, a member of Penguin Group (USA) Inc. Copyright © 20054 by Carrie Kabak. All rights reserved. This excerpt, or any parts thereof, may not be reproduced without permission.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.