BookBrowse Reviews Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cover The Butter

by Carrie Kabak

Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak X
Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2005, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2006, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A charming, compassionate look at how one woman discovers that self-fulfillment shouldn't be postponed forever. 1st Novel

Kabak's debut is set in Wales (which, just in case you're not familiar with the geography of Britain, is the bulge on the West side of the country surrounded on three sides by sea) - Kate Cadogan is a typical desperate housewife who is triggered to take stock of her life when she comes home to find her teenage son has trashed the house and her husband couldn't care less.  As she starts to take a close look at her life we travel back with her to her teenage years in the 1970s which were dominated by her controlling mother, and Kate's unplanned pregnancy, which landed her married to Rodney.  Luckily for Kate, she has two supportive friends, Ingrid and Moira, who stick with her through the years, and the support and sympathy of her grandparents and aunt (to the point that one can't help wondering how things managed to spiral to such a low point for her in the first place).  If you enjoyed Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman or Step-Ball-Change, this is one you'll most likely enjoy.

"Scenes play out fluidly and are nicely detailed, particularly in Kate's sophisticated foodyism." - Publishers Weekly.
"This is a charming, compassionate look at how one woman discovers that self-fulfillment shouldn't be postponed forever." - Booklist.

This review was originally published in July 2005, and has been updated for the May 2006 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Feast Your Eyes
    Feast Your Eyes
    by Myla Goldberg
    Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.