MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cover The Butter

by Carrie Kabak

Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak X
Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2005, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2006, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A charming, compassionate look at how one woman discovers that self-fulfillment shouldn't be postponed forever. 1st Novel

Kabak's debut is set in Wales (which, just in case you're not familiar with the geography of Britain, is the bulge on the West side of the country surrounded on three sides by sea) - Kate Cadogan is a typical desperate housewife who is triggered to take stock of her life when she comes home to find her teenage son has trashed the house and her husband couldn't care less.  As she starts to take a close look at her life we travel back with her to her teenage years in the 1970s which were dominated by her controlling mother, and Kate's unplanned pregnancy, which landed her married to Rodney.  Luckily for Kate, she has two supportive friends, Ingrid and Moira, who stick with her through the years, and the support and sympathy of her grandparents and aunt (to the point that one can't help wondering how things managed to spiral to such a low point for her in the first place).  If you enjoyed Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman or Step-Ball-Change, this is one you'll most likely enjoy.

"Scenes play out fluidly and are nicely detailed, particularly in Kate's sophisticated foodyism." - Publishers Weekly.
"This is a charming, compassionate look at how one woman discovers that self-fulfillment shouldn't be postponed forever." - Booklist.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in July 2005, and has been updated for the May 2006 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: American Dirt
    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins
    Jeanine Cummins' American Dirt hasn't just been positively reviewed by BookBrowse First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for ...
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...
  • Book Jacket
    Girl, Woman, Other
    by Bernardine Evaristo
    As we meet Amma, a 50-something playwright finally experiencing mainstream success in Bernardine ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Today We Go Home
by Kelli Estes

Illuminating and deeply human, Today We Go Home shines a light on the brave military women of the past and present.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Lady Clementine
    by Marie Benedict

    An illuminating look at one of history's most unusual and extraordinary women, Clementine Churchill.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.