Reading guide for Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cover The Butter

by Carrie Kabak

Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak X
Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2005, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2006, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!

  1. Are the characters or their circumstances familiar to you? Does Kate as a child narrator sound the age she should be? Does her voice set in a particular place or time ring true?
     
  2. What style is Cover The Butter written in? First person, third person or both? Is the story told from one point of view or many?
     
  3. What do the characters do? Do you find their actions troubling? Are their actions consistent with their characters?
     
  4. What is Cover The Butter about? Does the book have a central theme? If so what? Does it have many themes? If so, how do they interlink? Is one theme more dominant than others?
     
  5. Where does everything take place? Do the changing locations and environment in Cover The Butter color the telling of the story or are they merely a backdrop?
     
  6. What do you know about the author?  Did you scan the reviews before reading Cover The Butter?
     
  7. The Presentation. Do you think the book jacket synopsis and jacket image do a good job of indicating the type of book it is? (Or not!) What alternate titles would be suitable for this book?
     
  8. How did the book affect you? Do you feel 'changed' in anyway? Did it expand your range of experience or challenge your assumptions (for example did it take you to a place you haven't been before or help you see a place you know in a different light.) Did reading it help you to understand a person better—perhaps a friend or relative, or even yourself?
     
  9. In a movie version, who would play what parts?
     
  10. Would you consider Kate's mother to be technically abusive? What about her father?
     
  11. Why do you think Biddy favored Kate's cousin Josie?
     
  12. Biddy had a powerful hold over her daughter well into adulthood. Why do you think Kate put up with it?
     
  13. Are you familiar with the time period in which Kate's teenage years take place or did you learn something about them? Would the story have been different if it took place today?
     
  14. What are the real issues in Biddy's and Tom's marriage?
     
  15. Was Kate's upbringing partly or entirely responsible for her choice of Rodney as a husband?
     
  16. Why do you think Kate stayed with Rodney for so long?
     
  17. What sort of family produces a man like Rodney?
     
  18. Have you known a Biddy or Rodney? What other fictional characters do Kate, Biddy and Rodney remind you of?
     
  19. Could ANY sort of sensitivity training benefit Rodney or is he a hopeless case?
     
  20. How would Kate's life have been different if her grandparents, her aunt, and her friends Ingrid and Moira hadn't been so kind and supportive?
     
  21. Were Kate's friends as bad an influence as Biddy believed?
     
  22. Did certain parts of the book make you uncomfortable? If so, why did you feel this way?
     
  23. If you had a friend who made terrible romantic choices, would you make any attempt to advise her, or keep it to yourself?
     
  24. There is much recurring imagery in Cover The Butter. Can you explain the symbolic meaning of the butter dish, the spiral staircase and the Fry's chocolate bars?
     
  25. Do you think Kate's sense of humor saved her sanity at times? What parts of the story did you find humorous?
     
  26. Was there an event in the story that you had strong feelings about?
     
  27. Do you believe it was right for Kate to end her relationship with her parents?
     
  28. Is there a moral message behind Cover The Butter? What lessons do you think readers could take from Kate Cadogan's story?
     
  29. Use your imagination on these questions. In his (fictional) future, will Rodney remarry? What sort of woman will he potentially find on the second go-round? Does he really prefer women to men, sexually speaking? Will he have a good, bad, or indifferent relationship with his son as he matures?
     
  30. And about Kate: Do you foresee a lasting relationship between Kate and Erik? How will she get on in France? Will she hear from her parents ever again?


Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of NAL. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: My Heart Underwater
    My Heart Underwater
    by Laurel Fantauzzo
    Corazon — Cory — Tagubio is a Filipina-American teenager living with her family in ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Sun
    Black Sun
    by Rebecca Roanhorse
    Reading the first book in a series is always difficult because readers know that, by definition, it ...
  • Book Jacket: Somewhere in the Unknown World
    Somewhere in the Unknown World
    by Kao Kalia Yang
    Resettled refugees are mostly invisible. Their needs are rarely publicized and their struggles are ...
  • Book Jacket: The Orchard
    The Orchard
    by David Hopen
    The protagonist of David Hopen's first novel, The Orchard, is 17-year-old Aryeh Eden, a Brooklyn boy...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline

The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.