MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Excerpt from Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cover The Butter

by Carrie Kabak

Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak X
Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2005, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2006, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Inside, I'm saying, Yes, I was talking to a boy, and so what, and do you have a problem with that? But I wouldn't dream of saying any of those things. Not to Biddy.

"Who is he?" she asks.

"He?"

She turns on her new pointed toes and makes her way to the kitchen. "Dinner will be ready in half an hour. Daddy's coming home early tonight. I wasn't born yesterday, Kate. I know it was a boy you were talking to. I can tell."

Something tells me I haven't heard the end of this.



The boy isn't mentioned during the Irish stew with dumplings, thank the Lord. We gather around the Formica kitchen table, where my dad always sits to the left and Biddy to the right. My place is in the middle, facing the twirling teapot wallpaper.

Biddy starts the conversation rolling by describing an outpatient's genitalia and how embarrassing it was for her having to shave the bank manager "down there" today. And Mrs. Bootsby-Smythe, who does she think she is, with all her airs and pompous graces? Well, she was brought down a peg or two when she had to wait for Dr. Morrison, her legs in stirrups, her privates looking like a cockerel's comb.

I stifle a giggle, at the same time hoping I look okay "down there." Please, God, may I never have to go to the village hospital when my mother is the nurse on duty.

"Kate, now don't you let this get any further than the kitchen table, but Sophie Greengough is pregnant, and only sixteen years old."

Sophie is in the pudding club? She's going to have a baby? But I've never seen her with a boy, she's an A student, forever winning awards at school. She's brilliant at tennis and hockey and everything.

"God help her poor mother," says Biddy. "There was Mrs. Greengough, weeping in the waiting room while Sophie attended the antenatal clinic."

I try and imagine what it would be like doing it. Letting a boy touch you, and . . . God, I wouldn't even let Barry Finch do it. Moira has explained everything to me in great detail—her married sister, Fiona, told her all she wanted to know.

"Kate, what are you thinking about?" asks Biddy. "Tom, please cover the butter."

The meal is over, and as per ritual, my parents light up their cigarettes. Dad must put the lid on the butter dish in case the smoke taints it, and I must remain seated. It wouldn't be polite to leave the table just yet.

"What's on your mind, Kate?" asks Dad, echoing Biddy. A wisp of smoke escapes from his nostrils, curls into his eyes. His hair is Brylcreem-shiny, black, combed flat, like one of those film stars in old movies.

"Nothing. Can I phone Moira?"

I want to tell her about Sophie Greengough.

"Sure. Didn't you talk with her as soon as you came home?" Biddy clicks her fingernails on the Formica. "I'm not stupid, my girl—far from it." She takes a long drag from her cigarette. "It wasn't Moira Murphy making your face beet red."

Dad makes a halfhearted move to stack plates. He always looks for something to do when he senses conflict. And as usual, Biddy tells him to sit down.

Reprinted from Cover the Butter by Carrie Kabak, pages 1-13, with permission from Dutton, a member of Penguin Group (USA) Inc. Copyright © 20054 by Carrie Kabak. All rights reserved. This excerpt, or any parts thereof, may not be reproduced without permission.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Dredging in Swann
    A Dredging in Swann
    by Tim Garvin
    A Dredging in Swann, set in fictional Swann County, North Carolina, centers around fresh-out-of-the-...
  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Red Letter Days
    by Sarah-Jane Stratford

    A striking novel about two daring women who escape McCarthy-era Hollywood for London.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.