Who said: "If every country had to write a book about elephants..."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

This week we're taking a break from the regular literary quotes, for a literary joke!

If every country had to write a book about elephants. What would they write?

  • America: How to Make Bigger and Better Elephants
  • French: The Sex Lives of Elephants
  • England: Elephants I Have Shot on Safari
  • Wales: The Elephant and its Influence on Welsh Language and Culture
  • Japan: How to Make Smaller and Cheaper Elephants
  • Finland: What Do Elephants Think about Finnish People
  • German: A Short Introduction to Elephants, Volumes 1-12
  • Iceland: Defrosting an Elephant
  • Canada: Elephants: A Federal or State Issue
  • Sweden: How to Reduce Your Taxes with an Elephant
  • Switzerland: The Country Through Which Hannibal Went With His Elephants
  • Israel: The Elephant and the Jewish Problem
  • Denmark: Elephants: 100 Easy Ways of Cooking Them

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

From the moment I picked your book up...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.