MLA Gold Award Site

Michael Hoeye biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Michael Hoeye
puffin.co.uk

Michael Hoeye

Michael Hoeye Biography

Michael Hoeye is a children's writer. He is the author of the Hermux Tantamoq Adventures, a series of children's mystery novels about a watchmaker mouse.

Hoeye first came to Oregon in 1970 to homestead a piece of property in the Coastal Range. He stayed for five years. Then he moved to New York where he found out that city life can be even harder than homesteading. While he was in New York he worked as a textile designer, a stagehand at Studio 54, a fashion photographer, an agent, and a therapist. He did graduate work in psychiatry and religion at Union Theological Seminary in Manhattan. Then he returned to Oregon to marry his longtime sweetheart, Martha Banyas. They live happily in a stone cottage in Oak Grove.

Michael taught Management of Creativity for a number of years in the M.B.A. program at Marylhurst University. Time Stops for No Mouse was his first book. He has since written three more books in the Hermux Tantamoq Series.



This bio was last updated on 09/05/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Michael Hoeye Discusses
How Time Stops For No One Got Written

One beautiful Saturday morning in the summer of 1997 my wife and I decided to go out for breakfast at Café Lena on Hawthorne Boulevard in our hometown of Portland, Oregon. On our way walking there we stopped at a garage sale and found an old game similar to Scrabble. You pick a set of letter pieces at random and then see what words you can make from them.

When we got to the restaurant we made up a game to play while we drank coffee and waited for our food. The game went like this. After you got your letters, you had one minute to make up the name of an imaginary character and say something about who they were and what they did. I drew the letters that formed the name Hermux Tantamoq. And I immediately saw him as an ordinary, but likable, city mouse who was a watchmaker.

A week later I started writing about Hermux. And started getting a better feeling for who he is and the world he inhabits. I started accumulating bigger and bigger story fragments about him. On a weekend at the Oregon coast, I sat and watched the stormy ocean and wrote about him making a train trip to a small beach town. On a trip to Turkey that year I wrote about his arduous ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Michael Hoeye at BookBrowse
The Sands of Time jacket Time Stops For No Mouse jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Michael Hoeye but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Kate DiCamillo

    Kate DiCamillo

    It's a pipe dream of many an aspiring author: publish your debut novel, claim a spot on the New York Times bestseller list, and rack up an astonishing array of awards, including a Newbery Honor. For Kate DiCamillo, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Time Stops For No Mouse

    Try:
    The Tale of Despereaux
    by Kate DiCamillo

  • Timothy Ering

    Timothy Ering

    Timothy Basil Ering is an illustrator and an author. He has illustrated numerous books for children of all ages. He is the illustrator, and also the author of the very popular picture books Necks Out for Adventure! and The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Sands of Time

    Try:
    The Tale of Despereaux
    by Timothy Ering

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Victoria
by Daisy Goodwin

"A hit…The research is impeccable, the attention to detail, perfect." - The Sunday Mirror (UK)

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Second Mrs. Hockaday
    by Susan Rivers

    A love story, a story of racial divide, and a story of the South as it fell in the war.

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win No Man's Land

No Man's Land
by Simon Tolkien

Inspired by the experiences of his grandfather, J. R. R. Tolkien, during World War I.

Enter

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A List of Cages
    A List of Cages
    by Robin Roe
    Robin Roe has written one helluva young adult debut novel. Alternating first person narratives by a ...
  • Book Jacket: Homesick for Another World
    Homesick for Another World
    by Ottessa Moshfegh
    The frizzy, freaky, funky, and frazzled all pile on in this much anticipated short story collection ...
  • Book Jacket: Conclave
    Conclave
    by Robert Harris
    Although best known for his fact-based historical thrillers, in Conclave, best-selling author Robert...

Word Play

Solve this clue:

H W S W T Devil S H A L S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.