Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

Reviews of Time Stops For No Mouse by Michael Hoeye

Time Stops For No Mouse

by Michael Hoeye

Time Stops For No Mouse by Michael Hoeye X
Time Stops For No Mouse by Michael Hoeye
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2002, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2003, 256 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

"Everything that kids and their parents would want in a great action/adventure tale - humble heroes, despicable villains, and cliffhanger chapter-endings. It's fast and fun, rich and rewarding."

On the surface the city of Pinchester is much like any other ordinary metropolis inhabited by hard-working mice, rats, minks and moles. And Hermux Tantamoq is much like any other ordinary, hard-working mouse/watchmaker. But when spunky aviatrix Linka Perflinger walks into his shop, it's obvious that she is anything but ordinary.

After her mysterious disappearance, Hermux sets out to find her. Before long he is entangled in the convoluted schemes of an eccentric cosmetics tycoon, a sinister plastic surgeon, and a squad of ruthless lab rats. Hermux is caught up in a deadly race against time. And he realizes only too late that…

Time Stops for No Mouse!

Rated: Not too scary

Chapter 1
An Unexpected Visitor

"Oh my! Oh my!" murmured Hermux Tantamoq as he carefully examined the wristwatch. He had never seen such a beautiful watch so badly treated. The crystal was shattered. The hands were twisted like melted wax. The face was chipped and scratched so badly that the numbers were barely legible.

The young mouse drummed the countertop with her sharp nails.

"Please get this repaired immediately," she said in a rush. "It must keep perfect time. Perfect. Nothing less!"

Hermux removed his eyepiece and stared at his impatient new customer.

Her face was set in a sharp frown, but it was such a jolly bright face that the frown looked out of place. She wore no make-up. Just her natural fur. A dark glossy brown. She had on a red cap with a bright green feather in its brim, a jaunty, checked scarf, and a somewhat worn-looking leather flight jacket.

From the depths of her shoulder bag she withdrew a small case. From that she removed a violet-tinted business card ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Jennifer Anglin, The Enchanted Forest Bookstore, Dallas, Texas
A well-written tensely woven 'tail'. Readers will quickly be engrossed in Hermux's highly original world, full of richly drawn characters and plot twists.

Author Blurb Ann Parrish, Director of Language Arts & Libraries, Midland, Texas
I read Time Stops For No Mouse as both a supervisor of children's libraries and as an adult. I enjoyed it on both levels! Children who liked Harry Potter will like Hermux.

Author Blurb John Canemaker, Animator and Author, New York
... a delightful tale (no pun intended) for both kids and adults. The text is sly and earnest, graceful and funny, sometimes all at the same time.

Author Blurb Linda Schmoldt, Librarian, Portland, Oregon
Great fun! I missed my bus stop by a mile the other night. Not many books do that.

Author Blurb Mike Irwin, Powell's Books, Portland, Oregon
Time Stops For No Mouse offers everything that kids and their parents would want in a great action/adventure tale - humble heroes, despicable villains, and cliffhanger chapter-endings. Our hero Hermux ranks right up there with literature's greatest mice of mettle Stuart Little and Redwall's Martin the Warrior. Time Stops For No Mouse is fast and fun, rich and rewarding. I'm ready for more.

Author Blurb Patti Siberz, The News Guard, Lincoln City, Oregon
Stuart Little, move over. Hermux Tantamoq is in town! I am a big fan of Stuart Little, and this is a more exciting, contemporary mouse tale.

Reader Reviews

Blossum Ling

Time Stops for No Mouse
It was a very interesting story.
Ria

fantastic mystery book!
I really enjoyed reading the book because it was a very gripping story, about friendship and helping each other. The characters were very interesting and they had extremely weird names. I have just turned 8 years old and I have been reading this ...   Read More
Alis

Time Stops for No Mouse
At first I thought I would find this book boring...really fictional about mice and moles and other tunneling creatures. But the story developed my interest as much as many adult mysteries, better than some. If the reader can get over the distaste for...   Read More
person with no name

The Best! A page turner!
This book is chock full of rich, suspense, details and information. A real page turner. I have read many books in my life but by far this is the best. I would love to know more about the author and his advice.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Time Stops For No Mouse, try these:

  • The Tale of Despereaux jacket

    The Tale of Despereaux

    by Kate DiCamillo, Timothy Ering

    Published 2006

    About this book

    More by this author

    The beloved author of Because of Winn-Dixie enlightens us with a tale of adventure, despair, love, and soup.  Ages 8+. Read the first 3 chapters exclusively at BookBrowse.

  • The Carnivorous Carnival jacket

    The Carnivorous Carnival

    by Lemony Snicket, Brett Helquist

    Published 2003

    About this book

    More by this author

    In the continuing, appalling tales of the Baudelaire siblings, the children are on the run having been falsely accused of murder, so they hide in the carnival, as part of Madame Lulu's House of Freaks. Ages 9+

We have 5 read-alikes for Time Stops For No Mouse, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Michael Hoeye
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    by Briony Cameron
    Our titular heroine's story begins in Yáquimo, Santo Domingo. Jacquotte Delahaye is a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Another Word for Love
    Another Word for Love
    by Carvell Wallace
    "I write about beautiful things because I live in a country that has tried to kill me and every...
  • Book Jacket
    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson
    Michelle Collins Anderson's novel The Flower Sisters, based in part on a real tragedy that occurred ...
  • Book Jacket: Craft
    Craft
    by Ananda Lima
    You may have heard about books that are letters to God, but what about books that are letters to the...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Win This Book
Win The Bluestockings

The Bluestockings by Susannah Gibson

An illuminating group portrait of the eighteenth-century women who dared to imagine an active life for themselves in both mind and spirit.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.