Summary and book reviews of Time Stops For No Mouse by Michael Hoeye

Time Stops For No Mouse

by Michael Hoeye

Time Stops For No Mouse by Michael Hoeye X
Time Stops For No Mouse by Michael Hoeye
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2002, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2003, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

"Everything that kids and their parents would want in a great action/adventure tale - humble heroes, despicable villains, and cliffhanger chapter-endings. It's fast and fun, rich and rewarding."

On the surface the city of Pinchester is much like any other ordinary metropolis inhabited by hard-working mice, rats, minks and moles. And Hermux Tantamoq is much like any other ordinary, hard-working mouse/watchmaker. But when spunky aviatrix Linka Perflinger walks into his shop, it's obvious that she is anything but ordinary.

After her mysterious disappearance, Hermux sets out to find her. Before long he is entangled in the convoluted schemes of an eccentric cosmetics tycoon, a sinister plastic surgeon, and a squad of ruthless lab rats. Hermux is caught up in a deadly race against time. And he realizes only too late that…

Time Stops for No Mouse!

Rated: Not too scary

Chapter 1
An Unexpected Visitor

"Oh my! Oh my!" murmured Hermux Tantamoq as he carefully examined the wristwatch. He had never seen such a beautiful watch so badly treated. The crystal was shattered. The hands were twisted like melted wax. The face was chipped and scratched so badly that the numbers were barely legible.

The young mouse drummed the countertop with her sharp nails.

"Please get this repaired immediately," she said in a rush. "It must keep perfect time. Perfect. Nothing less!"

Hermux removed his eyepiece and stared at his impatient new customer.

Her face was set in a sharp frown, but it was such a jolly bright face that the frown looked out of place. She wore no make-up. Just her natural fur. A dark glossy brown. She had on a red cap with a bright green feather in its brim, a jaunty, checked scarf, and a somewhat worn-looking leather flight jacket.

From the depths of her shoulder bag she withdrew a small case. From that she removed a violet-tinted business card ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
  • award image

Reviews

Media Reviews

Author Blurb Patti Siberz, The News Guard, Lincoln City, Oregon
Stuart Little, move over. Hermux Tantamoq is in town! I am a big fan of Stuart Little, and this is a more exciting, contemporary mouse tale.

Author Blurb Mike Irwin, Powell's Books, Portland, Oregon
Time Stops For No Mouse offers everything that kids and their parents would want in a great action/adventure tale - humble heroes, despicable villains, and cliffhanger chapter-endings. Our hero Hermux ranks right up there with literature's greatest mice of mettle Stuart Little and Redwall's Martin the Warrior. Time Stops For No Mouse is fast and fun, rich and rewarding. I'm ready for more.

Author Blurb Jennifer Anglin, The Enchanted Forest Bookstore, Dallas, Texas
A well-written tensely woven 'tail'. Readers will quickly be engrossed in Hermux's highly original world, full of richly drawn characters and plot twists.

Author Blurb Linda Schmoldt, Librarian, Portland, Oregon
Great fun! I missed my bus stop by a mile the other night. Not many books do that.

Author Blurb Ann Parrish, Director of Language Arts & Libraries, Midland, Texas
I read Time Stops For No Mouse as both a supervisor of children's libraries and as an adult. I enjoyed it on both levels! Children who liked Harry Potter will like Hermux.

Author Blurb John Canemaker, Animator and Author, New York
... a delightful tale (no pun intended) for both kids and adults. The text is sly and earnest, graceful and funny, sometimes all at the same time.

Reader Reviews

Blossum Ling

Time Stops for No Mouse
It was a very interesting story.

Ria

fantastic mystery book!
I really enjoyed reading the book because it was a very gripping story, about friendship and helping each other. The characters were very interesting and they had extremely weird names. I have just turned 8 years old and I have been reading this ...   Read More

Alis

Time Stops for No Mouse
At first I thought I would find this book boring...really fictional about mice and moles and other tunneling creatures. But the story developed my interest as much as many adult mysteries, better than some. If the reader can get over the distaste for...   Read More

person with no name

The Best! A page turner!
This book is chock full of rich, suspense, details and information. A real page turner. I have read many books in my life but by far this is the best. I would love to know more about the author and his advice.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Michael Hoeye

If you liked Time Stops For No Mouse, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    More News Tomorrow
    by Susan Richards Shreve

    An irresistible portrait of a family drawn together in search of truth.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Fly Girls
by Keith O'Brien

How five daring women defied all odds and made aviation history.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.

 



© BookBrowse LLC 1997-2019. All rights reserved. Information at BookBrowse.com is published with the permission of the copyright holder or their agent.
It is forbidden to copy anything for publication elsewhere without written permission from the copyright holder.