Michael Hoeye biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Michael Hoeye
puffin.co.uk

Michael Hoeye

Michael Hoeye Biography

Michael Hoeye is a children's writer. He is the author of the Hermux Tantamoq Adventures, a series of children's mystery novels about a watchmaker mouse.

Hoeye first came to Oregon in 1970 to homestead a piece of property in the Coastal Range. He stayed for five years. Then he moved to New York where he found out that city life can be even harder than homesteading. While he was in New York he worked as a textile designer, a stagehand at Studio 54, a fashion photographer, an agent, and a therapist. He did graduate work in psychiatry and religion at Union Theological Seminary in Manhattan. Then he returned to Oregon to marry his longtime sweetheart, Martha Banyas. They live happily in a stone cottage in Oak Grove.

Michael taught Management of Creativity for a number of years in the M.B.A. program at Marylhurst University. Time Stops for No Mouse was his first book. He has since written three more books in the Hermux Tantamoq Series.



This bio was last updated on 09/05/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Michael Hoeye discusses his books and the unique characters he creates, what he enjoyed reading as a child, and what he reads now. Also, he offers advice to children, parents and teachers on how to be creative.

One beautiful Saturday morning in the summer of 1997 my wife and I decided to go out for breakfast at Café Lena on Hawthorne Boulevard in our hometown of Portland, Oregon. On our way walking there we stopped at a garage sale and found an old game similar to Scrabble. You pick a set of letter pieces at random and then see what words you can make from them.

When we got to the restaurant we made up a game to play while we drank coffee and waited for our food. The game went like this. After you got your letters, you had one minute to make up the name of an imaginary character and say something about who they were and what they did. I drew the letters that formed the name Hermux Tantamoq. And I immediately saw him as an ordinary, but likable, city mouse who was a watchmaker.

A week later I started writing about Hermux. And started getting a better feeling for who he is and the world he inhabits. I started accumulating bigger and bigger story fragments about him. On a weekend at the Oregon coast, I sat and watched the stormy ocean and wrote about him making a train trip to a small beach town. On a trip to Turkey that year I wrote about his arduous training at the Imperial School of Watchmaking in Istanbul. I ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Michael Hoeye at BookBrowse
The Sands of Time jacket Time Stops For No Mouse jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Michael Hoeye but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Kate DiCamillo

    Kate DiCamillo

    It's a pipe dream of many an aspiring author: publish your debut novel, claim a spot on the New York Times bestseller list, and rack up an astonishing array of awards, including a Newbery Honor. For Kate DiCamillo, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Time Stops For No Mouse

    Try:
    The Tale of Despereaux
    by Kate DiCamillo

  • Timothy Ering

    Timothy Ering

    Timothy Basil Ering is an illustrator and an author. He has illustrated numerous books for children of all ages. He is the illustrator, and also the author of the very popular picture books Necks Out for Adventure! and The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Sands of Time

    Try:
    The Tale of Despereaux
    by Timothy Ering

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Conviction
    Conviction
    by Denise Mina
    Scottish author Denise Mina's latest novel, Conviction, is a fast-paced thriller narrated by Anna, a...
  • Book Jacket
    Dread Nation
    by Justina Ireland
    The war between the states is over and, instead, a very different battle is being waged for the ...
  • Book Jacket: Costalegre
    Costalegre
    by Courtney Maum
    The year is 1937 and Hitler is gaining stronger sway over Europe. Chief among the Führer's ...
  • Book Jacket
    Lands of Lost Borders
    by Kate Harris
    Powered by imagination, grit, a bicycle, and the companionship of her best friend Mel, Kate Harris ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ellie and the Harpmaker
    by Hazel Prior

    A rich, heartwarming and charming debut novel about finding love in unexpected places.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Never Have I Ever
    by Joshilyn Jackson

    A diabolically entertaining tale of betrayal, deception, temptation, and love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
America for Beginners
by Leah Franqui

A poignant debut that explores unlikely friendships forged in unusual circumstances.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Book Club Giveaway!
Win Crudo

Crudo by Olivia Laing

A brilliant, funny, and emphatically raw novel of love on the brink of the apocalypse.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T C C H T Roost

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.