Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Timothy Ering biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Timothy Ering

Timothy Ering

Timothy Ering Biography

Timothy Basil Ering is an illustrator and an author. He has illustrated numerous books for children of all ages. He is the illustrator, and also the author of the very popular picture books Necks Out for Adventure! and The Story of Frog Belly Rat Bone.

Another notable book that Ering illustrated is the Newbery Award winning The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo. It is published in languages all around the world and is also a motion picture.

Ering studied illustration and fine art at the Art Center College of Design in Pasadena, CA. He is very inspired by his adventures on, around, and in the ocean. While he is busy creating art and stories for books, he is also busy painting images of fish, seascapes, and landscapes redolent with evidence of his beloved life as a Cape Codder.

Ering's other works include: Finn Throws a Fit, Punkzilla, Mr. and Mrs. God in the Creation Kitchen and Don't Let the Peas Touch.

From the author's website

Timothy Ering's website

This bio was last updated on 01/01/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Timothy Ering at BookBrowse
The Tale of Despereaux jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Timothy Ering but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Sharon Creech

    Sharon Creech

    Sharon Creech is the author of the Newbery Medal winner Walk Two Moons and the Newbery Honor Book The Wanderer. Her other work includes the novels Hate That Cat, The Castle Corona, Replay, Heartbeat, Granny Torrelli Makes ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Tale of Despereaux

    Try:
    The Wanderer
    by Sharon Creech

  • Michael Hoeye

    Michael Hoeye

    Michael Hoeye is a children's writer. He is the author of the Hermux Tantamoq Adventures, a series of children's mystery novels about a watchmaker mouse.

    Hoeye first came to Oregon in 1970 to homestead a piece of property in ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Tale of Despereaux

    Try:
    Time Stops For No Mouse
    by Michael Hoeye

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...
  • Book Jacket: Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    by Xochitl Gonzalez
    Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to ...
  • Book Jacket: Icarus
    Icarus
    by K. Ancrum
    The titular protagonist of K. Ancrum's young adult novel Icarus lives a double life that mixes the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Familiar
by Leigh Bardugo
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo comes a spellbinding novel set in the Spanish Golden Age.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.