MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Summary and book reviews of The Sands of Time by Michael Hoeye

The Sands of Time

A Hermux Tantamoq Adventure

by Michael Hoeye

The Sands of Time by Michael Hoeye X
The Sands of Time by Michael Hoeye
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2002, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2003, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Our favorite mouse and watchmaker, Hermux Tantamoq, is up to his ears in trouble again. A mysterious old chipmunk appears in his shop with what he claims to be a map to the royal library of a prehistoric kingdom of cats. Before long Hermux is hot on a trail of treachery and deceit.

Our favorite mouse and watchmaker, Hermux Tantamoq, is up to his ears in trouble again. All of Pinchester is in an uproar over his friend Mirrin Stentrill's visionary new paintings--monumental portraits of CATS! The Pinchester Museum announces Mirrin's exhibition, and Mayor Pinkwiggin immediately vows to shut it down. After all, cats are not a popular topic in a city of rodents--and everyone knows they never really existed. While militant mice organize to stop the show, most of Pinchester's stylish set vies for invitations to the gala opening.

Then a mysterious old chipmunk appears in Hermux's shop with what he claims to be a map to the royal library of a prehistoric kingdom of cats. Before long Hermux is hot on a trail of treachery and deceit that leads all the way from Pinchester to an ancient tomb that lies buried in . . . The Sands of Time!

Chapter 1
Do Drop In

"What a beautiful morning for watchmaking!" thought Hermux Tantamoq as he unlocked the door to his shop. There was something delicious in the air. He wrinkled his nose and sniffed. His whiskers twitched. He took a deep breath.

"Ripe apples," he said. "Now that's a nice smell!"

Before he went inside he took another good sniff. Hermux was a mouse who appreciated a good meal. A nice, plump red apple might be just the thing for lunch. With a thick slice of cheddar cheese. And a crusty piece of bread. What a pleasant thought! He raised the shade and switched on the lights. He put a sign out on the front counter that said,

Back in the workshop, please ring the bell!

Then he went to work.

Hermux got Clenton Yooger's big pocket watch down from the work shelf. All it needed was a good cleaning. He fitted his magnifying loupe to his right eye and opened the heavy gold case. First he removed the winding stem. Then he inserted a tiny pair of tweezers ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!
  • award image

Reviews

Media Reviews

Philadelphia Inquirer
A gripping story full of emotion and original humor. . . . Should firmly establish Hoeye as a break-out writer, one whose work can be favorably compared with J. K. Rowling and Brian Jacques.

Child Magazine A Child Magazine Best Book of 2001 Pick
The second installment in the ongoing escapades of mouse detective Hermux Tantamoq finds the diminutive watchmaker off on a quest to discover an ancient tomb, where the secret to mouse history (including whether or not cats ever really existed) lies buried. Hoeye's tale boasts the kind of minutely detailed world into which kids (and adults) can't wait to immerse themselves.

Barnes & Noble Review - Matt Warner
The courageous watchmaking star of Time Stops for No Mouse has returned, this time in an adventure that has him attending celebrity art exhibits, exploring ancient libraries, and stopping a villain who wants to change history forever. Michael Hoeye serves up a suspenseful follow-up that's just as action-packed as his first book. The story line scampers along with plenty of eccentric characters like Tucka Mertslin, and readers will be anxious to figure out who's behind the nasty hijinks. The desert setting also provides a mysterious background, lending a dramatic Indiana Jones-like atmosphere to the plot. Whether he likes it or not, Hermux is in deep, but we can thank heaven for that, because this is thrilling entertainment!

Publishers Weekly
Hoeye's galloping plot, evocative descriptions and exuberantly sophisticated wit keep the pages rapidly turning. Ages 12-up.

Reader Reviews

celeste

The Sands Of Time
I LOVED this book! The plot is interesting and the names of the mice are adorable. Micheal Hoeye is a brilliant writer!

zalak

5 out of 5- by zalak
I personally thought that Hermux's adventures were the most exciting and thrilling ones! His realtionships with many of the characters is quite funny and the story itself has a lot of twist and turns! In my opinion, Michael Hoeye is a very talented ...   Read More

Zew2

The book is great, the plot is binding and the characters are filled with personality. English is sadly not my first language, thus resulting in me looking in a dictionary after finishing each page. But if you look at it from a different perspective...   Read More

Patrick Cochrane

This is one of the best books I have ever read. I have also read other great authors, such as J.R.R Tolkien and Brian Jaques, and I think that this book can be favourably compared to them all.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Michael Hoeye

If you liked The Sands of Time, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Between Two Fires
    Between Two Fires
    by Joshua Yaffa
    It was thought by many that the fall of the Soviet Union would transform Russia from a totalitarian ...
  • Book Jacket: This Is Happiness
    This Is Happiness
    by Niall Williams
    Niall Williams's This Is Happiness offers an extraordinary portrait of a particular moment in the ...
  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for ...
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Lost Man
by Jane Harper

"Strong characters, riveting plot and an honest look at life in the Australian outback make it easy to give this 5-stars!"
—BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.